1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting RNS-E Sat Nav

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Hawesy, May 29, 2012.

  1. Hawesy

    Hawesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Just received my RNS-E Sat Nav, looking to fit it tonight if possible. Have rung my local Audi dealer but they said they haven't got any tools in stock to get the original stereo out and it will take 3 days to get them in. Do I need these removal keys to get it out? Or can I use the old coat hanger trick?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. kite

    kite Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    Try halfords for keys...
     
  4. AlexGSi2000

    AlexGSi2000 Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    192
  5. marktdisport

    marktdisport Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    15
    halfords tools work m8 tested them myself
     
  6. Hawesy

    Hawesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just been to halfords, they only had 2 so bought them. Realised I defiantly need 4 lol so can t do it anyway!!!! :mad:
     
  7. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    Did you get the plain metal ones or the ones with plastic coated handles?

    The RNS-E can be a very tight fit sometimes, and the plain metal ones can cut into your fingers if you're not careful.
     
  8. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    I've found you can do it with 2.
    Do one side then they'll wriggle loose. Then pull out the other side.
     
  9. Hawesy

    Hawesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Got another set of keys from halfords, had an absolute nightmare with them and took em straight back.

    Ended up cutting my hand, and scratching the original unit. Going to wait until the Audi keys come and do it that way. Hate being patient lol but don't want to force it out!

    Thanks all for the advice
     
  10. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    27
    My advice would also be protect the console sides with tape or thin plastic before removing either the radio or the climate unit....the plastic marks very easily !
     
  11. Hawesy

    Hawesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Deffiantly thanks
     
  12. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    What I said... the Halfords ones are for masochists.
     
  13. Hawesy

    Hawesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got my Sat Nav fitted at last. Loving it!

    Before
    [​IMG]

    After

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #12 Hawesy, May 31, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
  14. Speed_Demon1978

    Speed_Demon1978 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi mate looking at getting this done myself as replacement for the current symphony set-up with the 6CD built in. What other bits and pieces did you need and did you have to connect another CD changer too?
     
  15. vr6gordy

    vr6gordy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    82
    Have you coded it yet so every thing works
     
  16. Speed_Demon1978

    Speed_Demon1978 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    No mate, haven`t actually gone about doing anything yet as want to see whether the cost/time/effort would be worth it? Currently have one of those cassette adaptor things using it with my iphone doing the job at the mo for the music :yes:
     

Share This Page