1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting new bulbs, do i need to remove the headlight?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by medicpaul, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. medicpaul

    medicpaul Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    The dip beam on my B6 is pretty horrendous, so before doing a full HID upgrade I thought I would try some Osram Nightbreakers. Haven't had time to fit them yet as we have a new baby but does the headlight need removing to fit them???
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Dilligaf-UK

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes - or at least I had to last week!

    The Nightbreakers make a hell of a difference!
     
  4. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,005
    Likes Received:
    528
    I've heard of people able to do it with the light in situ, they clearly have smaller hands than I do!

    There's a few threads on here telling you how to remove the headlights if you need them.
     
  5. medicpaul

    medicpaul Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason I can't find the thread regarding removing the headlight, could someone help with some direction?
     
  6. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,005
    Likes Received:
    528
    Use Google as the search feature on here isn't much use. Start off with "Audi-Sport" and then what you're searching for and you should find it.

    Failing that I'll link the diagrams from my Photobucket account when I get home later.
     
  7. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    27
  8. swarcup

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    39
  9. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    27
    oh you will need an extenion bar on your socket set to slacken off the lower one(s), my only difficuly was removing the electrical connector, one didnt come out at all.
     
  10. dejongj

    dejongj Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    28
    On the Cabrio it was very easy to do, still can't believe you have to take the headlight out to change a bulb as I wouldn't want to do it in the dark, but easy nevertheless.

    Just loosen two screws either side, electical connector was a bugger until you figure out how they work.

    I've used some philips extreme and it is ok, but not great.
     
  11. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    27
    Cab has just one lower torx to loosten off, saloons/avants have 2 I believe and yes the power connectors are a bugger !

    May also be worth masking off the top of your bumper so you dont scratch it when sliding the headlight unit out...
     
  12. Woorlord

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... .
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    14
    Stick on old towel (or new it is your baby!) on the bumper under the loosened headlight - no need to undo the electrical connector, although you may have to cut a cable tie to give you a little cable slack.
     

Share This Page