1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting new bulbs, do i need to remove the headlight?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by medicpaul, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. medicpaul
    Offline

    medicpaul Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2011]
    The dip beam on my B6 is pretty horrendous, so before doing a full HID upgrade I thought I would try some Osram Nightbreakers. Haven't had time to fit them yet as we have a new baby but does the headlight need removing to fit them???
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. Dilligaf-UK
    Offline

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 13, 2011]
    Yes - or at least I had to last week!

    The Nightbreakers make a hell of a difference!
    #2
  4. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,893
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Mar 13, 2011]
    I've heard of people able to do it with the light in situ, they clearly have smaller hands than I do!

    There's a few threads on here telling you how to remove the headlights if you need them.
    #3
  5. medicpaul
    Offline

    medicpaul Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    For some reason I can't find the thread regarding removing the headlight, could someone help with some direction?
    #4
  6. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,893
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    Use Google as the search feature on here isn't much use. Start off with "Audi-Sport" and then what you're searching for and you should find it.

    Failing that I'll link the diagrams from my Photobucket account when I get home later.
    #5
  7. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    #6
  8. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    #7
  9. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    oh you will need an extenion bar on your socket set to slacken off the lower one(s), my only difficuly was removing the electrical connector, one didnt come out at all.
    #8
  10. dejongj
    Offline

    dejongj Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    On the Cabrio it was very easy to do, still can't believe you have to take the headlight out to change a bulb as I wouldn't want to do it in the dark, but easy nevertheless.

    Just loosen two screws either side, electical connector was a bugger until you figure out how they work.

    I've used some philips extreme and it is ok, but not great.
    #9
  11. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    Cab has just one lower torx to loosten off, saloons/avants have 2 I believe and yes the power connectors are a bugger !

    May also be worth masking off the top of your bumper so you dont scratch it when sliding the headlight unit out...
    #10
  12. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Stick on old towel (or new it is your baby!) on the bumper under the loosened headlight - no need to undo the electrical connector, although you may have to cut a cable tie to give you a little cable slack.
    #11

Share This Page