1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting Liquid Gauge tonight :)

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Welly, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    looks very nice Welly, I like!
    #41
  2. S3 Nattie
    Offline

    S3 Nattie Quattro ist für sissies

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    7
    Im 99% sure its standard. When I first got the car I was getting standard figures with vag com but now im getting what I mentioned above, maybe even more now as I have done some things I lasted logged .

    Nathan
    #42
  3. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    well at least your going the right way...lol
    #43
  4. Essflee
    Offline

    Essflee Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    27
    Welly, your torque figure, did you get a spike at all or was it smooth, reason being when I used my mates the highest spike I got was 328lb ft and would settle at about 300 ish, I disregarded it as people say it's not achievable from a stock K04, didn't know how accurate that was as it seems a lot...
    #44
  5. Dazboss
    Offline

    Dazboss Like A Thristy Dingo ;)

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take it, its just sat on top of your vent ?
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
    #45
  6. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,274
    Likes Received:
    90
    No, it actualy replaces the vent.
    #46
  7. Dazboss
    Offline

    Dazboss Like A Thristy Dingo ;)

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its just on the right hand side thought i could see the vent fins, prob just me though.
    #47
  8. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    vagcom or liquid gauge
    #48
  9. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    Liquid guage is deff no substitute for vagcom its a cool "live accessory" but useless for live printable logs or people with shovel hands like me.... if you can afford it it is def worth having....for the live info on the fly
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
    #49
  10. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    Nice one Welly! My missus bought me one a few weeks ago for our anni. It's too damn cool! :)

    I got a reading of 258bhp and 244 ft/lbs. Peak boost is read 22.3 psi. Sometimes i get 22.4 psi which is nice lol. Should be a teeny bit more but i got a boost leak under my mani! Doh!
    #50
  11. MintyS3
    Offline

    MintyS3 Works 60% the time, Everytime.

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    4
    You sure you dont have a boost leak? My liquid gauge sees over 21psi and 290lbs running stage 1 Revo on high boost.
    #51
  12. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    If you mean me, then pretty sure, yes.

    The large port head drops the torque by producing less restriction.
    #52
  13. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,774
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Was leak tested prior to the dyno run to best part of 30psi with no leaks :)

    <tuffty/>
    #53
  14. jimmp
    Offline

    jimmp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry lads- you're going to think this is extremely daft-

    where do you get hold of a Liquid Gauge????
    #54
  15. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    Page 1 of this thread - Badger5.
    #55
  16. MintyS3
    Offline

    MintyS3 Works 60% the time, Everytime.

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    4
    I seee. K04 not man enough for a large port head then lol.
    #56
  17. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    Not without the help of mods.

    Think of blowing through a maccers straw into the grand canyon.....

    OK, that's an exaggeration I grant you, but the size difference in ports is huge!
    #57
  18. jimmp
    Offline

    jimmp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another silly question-

    relative to the Race Diagnostics website for the Liquid Gauge- if I have an '01 plate car, is that "pre " or "post" facelift...?

    It's "post" right? I had a Mk1 A3 years ago...
    #58
  19. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    Yeah, should be a post facelift.
    #59
  20. jimmp
    Offline

    jimmp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    thankyou-

    I e-mailed Race Diagnostics and they reckon the Liquid "might not" give oil temp on a 1.8t Quattro...

    Does anybody know if this is true...? Also, can you read and reset DTCs on the Liquid...?
    #60
  21. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    Yes, you can read and reset trouble codes. My Pre Facelift S3 won't give oil temp either - but not the end of the world.
    #61
  22. mk1chopper
    Offline

    mk1chopper Missing the S3

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10
    slightly off topic, do you need the full version of vagcom to do logs, i have an ebay/3rd party cable that i've used for basic fault code finding although I cant run a full scan have I have to run scans on separate sections.
    #62
  23. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    You can log blocks from 001 to 025 on shareware VAG COM.

    Useful in themselves as you can get air flows and log timing pull. Sadly boost is out of reach in blocks 118 and 115, as are fuel trims on block 032.

    I guess it depends on what you want to log.
    #63
  24. mk1chopper
    Offline

    mk1chopper Missing the S3

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10
    You can get an etimate of power by logging air flows right? which block is that? Whats the best way to do a log run, is it full throttle in 3rd or 4th?
    #64
  25. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    4th really, but 3rd on a public road, as 4th makes over a ton at redline....
    #65
  26. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    670
    block 002 or 003 have g/s on them
    #66
  27. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    Good spot, I missed that.
    #67
  28. Chlippo
    Offline

    Chlippo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    12
    thats nice! wellY done

    But i think they can do a better quality ones...specially that button
    #68
  29. ash3435
    Offline

    ash3435 flat out if in doubt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you work out your torque output with vagcom.im seeing around 210g/s, sometimes more.my spikes 24psi with standard n75 valve
    #69
  30. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    divide by 0.8........ 262bhp
    #70

Share This Page