1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting cruise control

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by David Dunderdale, May 3, 2012.

  1. David Dunderdale
    Offline

    David Dunderdale New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2012]
    Hi i was wondering if anyone knows how easy it is to fit cruise control such as AUDI A3 CRUISE CONTROL/WIPER STALKS 8L0953513J | eBay.

    In the current state the car does not have cruise control but I am guessing all the wiring would be built in just not attached the stalk?

    Any able to comment on this?

    Thanks!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,988
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    [May 3, 2012]
    You need the wiring loom(s) as only the TDi's come with one of the ones you need IIRC... you will also need VCDS or a dealer to enable cruise control on the ECU

    Just get this kit..
    Audi TT A3 1.8T - Retrofit Cruise Control Kit | eBay

    Comes with a new stalk and the wiring looms plus instructions... got the same kit myself...

    You have to remove the airbag/steering wheel and drivers side lower dash panel... you then need to run one of the looms to the ECU and push the pre-fitted terminals into the ECU plug...

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. David Dunderdale
    Offline

    David Dunderdale New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2012]
    Thanks for that ill look into it, its abit of a nice to do rather than i need it so ill keep in on the radar :)
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,988
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    [May 3, 2012]
    One of the best mods I ever did.. its ace... well worth doing IMO..

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  6. S3 Tim
    Offline

    S3 Tim BAM!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2012]
    +1

    I bought and had this kit fitted the other day when my car was serviced. Works really well.
    #5
  7. Jimgrim77
    Offline

    Jimgrim77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    20
    [May 3, 2012]
    Going to do this next. With a new steering wheel.
    #6
  8. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 3, 2012]
    Same, but what a pig of a job wiring in the loom to the ECU, my ar5ehole was twitching like a rabbits nose!!!
    #7
  9. wesmaster
    Offline

    wesmaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    18
    [May 3, 2012]
    I did the mod on a MK4 Golf GTTDI, Real easy to follow instructions, done in 90 mins. Saves your legs and fuel!
    By the way I got a genuine retro kit from TPS (Trade Parts Specialists) for £60, dont pay over the odds on ebay.

    Hope this helps
    Wes
    #8
  10. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 4, 2012]
    its alot easier on mkiv golfs because most of the loom is already in place... its about a 4 hour job on an s3 if your a cruise virgin.
    #9
  11. Dan-Jnr
    Offline

    Dan-Jnr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    151
    [May 4, 2012]
    I had this done a Awesome, was something like £100 parts and labour.
    One of the better OEM mods, use it every day.
    #10
  12. Lemon S3
    Offline

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2012]
    Is there a guide on how to do it?

    EDIT: Just found this link on the ebay auction tufty posted, its for a mk4 golf though.
    #11
  13. S3 Tim
    Offline

    S3 Tim BAM!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2012]
    The kit comes with instructions
    #12
  14. jcs356
    Offline

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    36
    [May 4, 2012]
    I had mine done by Hazydayz. Took them about an hour and was about £130 from memory. A worthwhile mod especially now we have huge chunks of motorway roadworks with 50mph SPECs enforced limits.
    #13
  15. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 6, 2012]
    would this work on my agu drive by wire?
    #14
  16. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,988
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    [May 6, 2012]
    AGU is drive by cable mate so no, this cruise control won't work on yours...

    <tuffty/>
    #15
  17. ShaunS3
    Offline

    ShaunS3 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    98
    [May 6, 2012]
    I also had my cruise control fitted at Awesome-Gti. £100 + vat supplied and fitted. It took them just over an hour to do. Great service and little demo on completion. Highly recommended.
    #16
  18. Jimgrim77
    Offline

    Jimgrim77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    20
    [May 6, 2012]
    Great recommendations. Ordered last night.
    #17
  19. Y83OLK
    Offline

    Y83OLK Hulk Smash!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 6, 2012]
    I want to do this.. But drive a maximum of 10miles a week... so kind of pointless for me :(
    #18
  20. Benjiman46
    Offline

    Benjiman46 R-Tech Terrorist

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    Was yours easy to do <tuffty/>? I've got an APY S3, do I need extra looms and Vag-Com too?

    Ben
    #19
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 16, 2013]
    Replied on your other thread :)
    #20
  22. Eddie S3
    Offline

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 17, 2013]

    Would that work on BAM engines?
    #21
  23. Yvan
    Offline

    Yvan Audi A3 2.0Tdi S-Line Auto

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 2, 2013]
    Hi Jimgrim77, can you recommend someone in Bristol area to fit a cruise control on
    A3 auto 2005?
    #22
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 2, 2013]
    Ping me a PM mate as I will be able to sort this when working in the area :)
    #23
  25. amicallef1991
    Offline

    amicallef1991 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 27, 2013]
    Hi guys,

    Ive got an Audi a3 8l 1.9TDI.

    Am i correct in thinking that as its a TDI i only need the stalk and all wiring for crusie control will already be present?

    Thanks
    #24
  26. Chlippo
    Offline

    Chlippo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 27, 2013]
    I think the ebay listing doesnt exist anymore. If someone can confirm or re-post the link
    #25
  27. Eddie S3
    Offline

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 28, 2013]
    Best phoning up vw teeside and see if they are still selling them

    Number is: 01287 555055 (Mon-Fri, 11am-4pm)
    #26
  28. amicallef1991
    Offline

    amicallef1991 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    Anyone:

    Ive got an Audi a3 8l 1.9TDI.

    Am i correct in thinking that as its a TDI i only need the stalk and all wiring for crusie control will already be present?
    #27

Share This Page