1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting Boost Gauge, which one?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by willh92, Jan 27, 2014.

  1. willh92
    Offline

    willh92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 27, 2014]
    Hi all,

    I would like to fit a boost gauge to my standard S3, can this be done without having it remapped and it just being standard??

    Also, which gauge would you recommend? I would like it to be vent mounted.

    Cheers

    Will
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. Adam P
    Offline

    Adam P Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    130
    [Jan 27, 2014]
    Will,

    You can fit a boost gauge without the car being remapped yes. It will just indicate standard bar/psi. Obviously you will get changes on the gauge when the car is remapped. I have a vent mounted boost gauge in a swg motorsport housing unit which has been flocked.
    There are plenty of gauges on ebay which will do the job just have a look around. Here is a pic of mine to give you an idea of what your looking for.

    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. willh92
    Offline

    willh92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 27, 2014]
    ok cheers mate!

    How do they wire in though, did you do yours yourself? is it a big job?

    Cheers
    #3
  5. Adam P
    Offline

    Adam P Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    130
    [Jan 27, 2014]
    #4
  6. willh92
    Offline

    willh92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 27, 2014]
    Cheers mate, I take it you ran the pipe / wiring into the air vent from the grommet in the firewall instead.
    #5
  7. Adam P
    Offline

    Adam P Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    130
    [Jan 27, 2014]
    I didnt have to run the pipewoke through the grommet as my boost gauge came with a valve which sits in the engine bay that the pipwork is directly connected to. This reads the psi and sends the signal back to the boost gauge in the car electrnoically. If you follow the above link for a standard setup you will be fine.
    #6

Share This Page