1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting Bi-Xenons to 8P1 with Factory fit Xenons? Possible? How!?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Joe90k, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. Joe90k
    Offline

    Joe90k Speed doesn't Kill!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi all,

    As the title says, this is the one thing that my car is missing that I would like. I have factory fit Xenon headlights (Main beam only!) with auto level/headlight washer etc. but would like the Bi-Xenon units off a later 8P2 A3 (Main beam and full beam!)

    Can it be done? Is it a straight swap and what do I need?

    Cheers,
    Joe
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Can be done, but new headlights use a 14 pin connector now not 10, wiring will need changing to suit, you can get adapters, but needs coding & potentially a CE module upgrade, you need it done, give me a shout.
    #2
  3. Breezey
    Offline

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Slight bump, i will be doing this to mine in the next few weeks / months, headlights on the way and so is the adapter from kufa. How do you know if you need a CE module upgrade as the options for bixennon arnt there or?
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Module 09, long coding, Byte 21 drop down box displaying bixenon as an option to code, if you dont have byte 21 then cant be done properly.
    #4
  5. Breezey
    Offline

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great stuff i will get VCDS and cross my fingers, out of curiosity whats a CE module going to set me back? Also the Bi-xennons have DRLs is this useable swell obviously need the new light switch?
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yes drl's can be wired in & coded if supported by headlight switc & ce module.

    New modules are about £280 from audi.
    #6
  7. Breezey
    Offline

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ouch! Thanks for the headsup, with me having an 04 plate i wont hold my breath!
    #7
  8. Breezey
    Offline

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    NHN, with regards to the central Electronics module upgrade, I've tried to find it on ETKA but seems all i can find is what looks like a canbus Gateway? ive upgraded these before on golf assuming this is the same part or am i clutching at straws?
    #8

Share This Page