1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting Aftermarket HU Questions

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by S4_dan, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    Hi,

    Done a search but can't find exactly what i'm looking for.

    Got myself an 1kw Amp and a nice sub, along with a sony HU i've had for a while but never fitted.

    Pulled my Concert out and checked the wiring. The standard ISO leads has correct power backup, earth etc on it but the speaker ISO plug only has four wires (Front speakers only)

    The rear speakers seems to be fitted into a small blue block with much thinner wires. I presume these wires go to the amp & sub already fitted? Does the said amp also drive the rear speakers?

    On that basis, what are my options for getting the rear speakers to work?

    1) Buy an ISO adapter harness?
    2) Rewire the rear speakers directly to the Sony HU?
    3) Would i need a 2nd amp for the rear speakers or would the HU drive them ok?

    Any other pointers would be appreciated.

    Cheers,

    Dan
    #1
  2. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    You can buy an ISO adapter but wiriing it up your self is easier.
    You can wire them in directly or use the orignal Audi wiring that goes in to the amp. The rear amp powers the rear speakers and sub.
    Head unit or orignal audi amp will be fine.

    When I wired my head unit up I used the stereo speakers in to the orignal Audi wiring which went in to the amp.
    And all works fine.

    Why not use the amp to power the speakers or a 2nd amp?
    #2
  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,345
    Likes Received:
    424
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    The audi amp is pish, and is also built into the OE subwoofer on an avant, so will likely end up in the bin when you fit your nice sub.

    Your options are basically to rewire the speakers into the head unit, or do what i did and buy a second amp to power all four door speakers.

    I'd seriously recommend the latter, giving the speakers a nice true 50-60W RMS power rather than the ~20w you'll get from a head unit really makes a difference.
    #3
  4. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    Ok, i've fitted my sony hu and for time being i've connect the rear speakers to and hu harness as normal and used the antenna live for powering the amp. I've got sound in all 4 speakers and amp. HOWEVER, i keep getting like 'spike' surges through the rears and sub. I've turned bass right down on HU but no difference. Still getting a loud crackling spike noise every few seconds or so.
    #4
  5. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    I do have a smaller amp sat in a Saab 900 Turbo i'm restoring so I might pinch that to run the 4 speakers. Sony HU says it gives 50w per channel so would fitting an amp be much difference?
    #5
  6. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    another question, does the internal nearside cloth trim need to come out to remove amp/sub? The sub i have is already in an enclosure but might look to adapt it so it minimises the loss of boot space for the pushchair, toolbox and shopping etc.
    #6
  7. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    Yes.
    #7
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,345
    Likes Received:
    424
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    Your Sony HU will be rated at 50w "MAX" power and something like 20-25w RMS (real) power. A proper power amp will be rated usually at least 50w RMS.

    The JBL GTO4000 i have in the avant will do 50w into four channels, and the JBL i have for the saloon will do 75w into two channels
    #8
  9. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    Right, got OEM amp/sub out. Now struggling to get the pesky door cards off to rewire the speakers. tried a search but coming up with nothing??
    #9
  10. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    The door cards lift up once you removed the screws behind the door handle.
    #10
  11. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,345
    Likes Received:
    424
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    two screws at the very top edges as well.
    #11
  12. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    I got two screws out at the side near top of the trim and one from in door handle area. But it is still stuck solid?

    So there is only 3 screws securing the trim?
    #12
  13. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    after you have removed the screw near the handle,remove the small trim behind it and there is another 2 screws behind it.

    tony
    #13
  14. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    The pull/close handle trim? Or the swing handle that opens the door?

    I've tried to remove the pull/close trim but it wont budge and i dont wat to break it like i did with the wooden trim after following a bum guide on auditech world forum
    #14
  15. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    the pull/close handle mate.It will be tight,but will come out.

    tony
    #15
  16. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    You don't pull it out, you just push it down to reveal the 2 main screws.
    #16
  17. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    2 screws either side at top of card, then one under door pull, when you take the screw out pull the plastic down, it splits from rest of handle, theres a further 2 large screws behind this, then hold the door card by handle and lift it up off the door.
    #17
  18. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    [​IMG]

    Trim in green circle won't budge.

    Trim in red circle is secured to door trim from rear of trim. I know 'cos i've broken a clip on back of it tryin to pry it off.

    So i'm baffled.
    #18
  19. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    the bit of trim in question is behind the handle,you can just see the top of it in your pic.Its the bit that the screw goes through.

    tony
    #19
  20. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    153
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    I'm sure the panel has a blank cap about in the centre behind the grab handle and iirc the grab and chrome handle bit comes of with the door card when you lift the panel off the door !
    #20
  21. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Remove the screw behind the grab handle where the blue arrow is pointing then push the cuff down which the red arrow
    [​IMG]
    #21
  22. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Yup, sussed it now! lol. Was looking too much to realise that the little piece pulled down.

    Well, card off, speaker wire unplugged.

    What is the most preferred way of running new wire from the speaker?

    Continuing to use Audi's wiring from speaker to B Pillar

    OR

    Connect the thicker speaker wire i have direct to the speaker and feed through the B pillar/door connector?
    #22
  23. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    run new cable all the way, release the rubber boot between the door and the pillar to help guide it through
    #23
  24. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,345
    Likes Received:
    424
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Isnt the OE cable pretty chunky?

    I just made my connections at the head unit ISO loom, as i couldnt be arsed messing with the doors.
    #24
  25. andybnwc
    Offline

    andybnwc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Its really not worth running new cables through the doors unless A they are already damaged or B doing a full door build
    #25
  26. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 8, 2011]
    The wire to the front speakers are fairly thick. The wires for the rears are thin. There are thin from HU to the amp then to the speakers. So was wanting to rewire with larger guage wire.
    #26
  27. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 8, 2011]
    There is no stock speaker wiring from HU to rears. The rears run off the amp in the boot, the wiring from HU to amp is for low level pre-outs, which you definately cannot use for speaker cable as it is only single wiring and a screen, the screen is earthed, so if you try and use this it will fry your HU. You can by all means tap into the rear wiring at the amp so you don't have to route it through to the doors, but you'll still have to run new cable from HU to boot.
    #27
  28. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jul 8, 2011]
    Not much point in upping the gauge of the wire, unless your using a decent powered amp and front speakers that will benefit from it.

    16 gauge is more than enough for most standard, slightly amped stuff.
    #28
  29. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 8, 2011]
    Yeah i'm aware that I have to rewire upto the OEM amp/sub connector if leaving original speaker wire in situ from there on. Those wires to the speakers are still thin but not as thin as from the HU to the amp connector. Front speakers wiring is fine.

    I'll prob just run all the new amp wires and speaker wire along the Nearside trim to the boot and join speakers wires onto old amp connector.

    Shame i'm not fitting this into a vauxhall as the trim is so bloody easy to remove and replace!! lol
    #29

Share This Page