1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

first warm day.....no cold air from vents :( .....where do i start?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by chazza55, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. chazza55

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    so yesterday was the 1st time the car really got warm in the sun..........noticed the coolest i could get from the vents was ambient temp. :(

    last service (oct 2011) audi confirmed something like -5degC from the vents, so was ok then.

    So my question is: Where do i start looking for the problem?

    Is there somewhere in vcds i can look for an HVAC temp diagnostic?.......what are the other likely options i have? (other than paying someone to look at it....which i would prefer not to!)

    Any advice is much appreciated......would like to get it sorted before a possible hot summer!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,415
    Likes Received:
    625
    can you turn the econ off on the cc unit ?
     
  4. chazza55

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    i have the unit on "auto" all the time other than when i am using the front screen demist........ dont think auto uses the econ setting.

    even when set to "LO" the air is ambient temp.
     
  5. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,415
    Likes Received:
    625
    you need econ off auto off and set to low for cold air
    go do that you should have cold air
     
  6. chazza55

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    checked that out today......have to say that i still think only ambient air is coming out. :(

    does anyone know if there is a less subjective test i could do?
     
  7. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,216
    Likes Received:
    2,403
    Probably needs refilling tbh..... if you do a scan in VCDS I think it should throw a fault code if the pressure is too low....

    <tuffty/>
     
  8. chazza55

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cheers tuffty - will try to check for codes tomorrow.

    I am expecting to potentially be shot down in flames and told to wash my mouth out......but what are your views on this:
    Halfords | Air Conditioning Measure & Charge


    Is this something i should be leaving alone or is it worth a punt?
     
  9. vfr800

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    49
    I leave the aircon system well alone and let people who have the right equipment work on it.

    I think a regas from a decent garage will cost about £40-£50. They usually hook the car up to a big clover box which removes the old gas, does a pressure test on the system, purges air and moisture from the system and then refills it.

    I while back I got a quote from a VAG specialist for about £100 which included the above and replacement of all the seals on the system.

    Worth doing before it gets any warmer.

    VCDS can tell you if there are any faults on the aircon system - like low pressure. Your fans should kick in when you switch the aircon on. The condenser should also get cold if it's working.

    Liam
     
  10. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    first thing to check is if the compressor actually engages...

    With the car running switch between econ and auto, and see if theres any change in engine note. The revs should blip momentarily when the compressor kicks in.

    If it doesnt, then its either low pressure, or some other fault like a dodgy compressor clutch or clutch relay, or even a break in the wiring somewhere.

    If the compressor runs but it doesnt get cold, then it probably needs a new drier and a regas.
     
  11. chazza55

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    cheers all - will do the checks then take the appropriate action.....best do it before it gets to the crazy hot british summers! :blink: ..........well they're hot enough for me so needs to be done.
     
  12. chazza55

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    %$(*&_(%(&^$ is the only way to describe it.

    - checked with my VCDS Lite and cannot connect to the HVAC controller.....only the engine one.

    - took it to be re-gassed.............no luck.......holds pressure ok and no leaks.....but compressor wont work apparently.



    Any bright ideas where to start looking or is it a replacement only job?

    And is it worth getting an ebay one for £100 that has come from a breakers?..........no idea how much audi would charge!
     
  13. vfr800

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    49
    The first time my aircon went boobies up it was the aircon compressor clutch I think. Needed a new compressor and clutch and it cost a lot as it was from Audi.

    When my aircon wasn't working the second time. It was a combination of the fuses (check the three little green 30A blade fuses on top of the battery), the pressure switch and the fan control module.

    There are guides on the Internet for testing the fan control module.

    The fans can be tested with a multimeter to check they're not burnt out.

    I think the pressure switch is a common thing to go wrong - you should be able to see this from VCDS though?!?

    Liam
     

Share This Page