First experience in 10cm of snow

Filumo

Reaction score
I have nokian tyres (same profile as summer tyres on same rims). Car (s3sb) went up t he mountain like a boss! No slippage -gave me total confidence! Many other 2wd cars with snow tyres gave up!

Reactions: andywil13
In heavy rain I was pleased with the way it behaved, much like my previous car which also had quattro but a bit more comforting that it has a solid stance and feel.

Did you have traction off? I would assume so.

Glad to hear that. We're picking up our S3 in mid-January and I was a bit worried how such a powerful car would deal with the snow. We're getting it fitted with snow tires the day we pick it up -- Bridgestone Blizzak WS80.

If it ever gets stuck in snow turning the traction off helps.

Thanks for that tip. Neither of our current cars has traction control so I haven't paid any attention on how to use it. As an experienced winter driver I rarely get stuck. Now that we're getting it on our S3 it seemed counter-intuitive to shut it off when stuck but I've read up on it and you are absolutely right. It prevents you from rocking your way out of a hole.

I thought that in my previous car, it actually had little to no grip and I was disappointed thinking useless quattro, turned esp off and it gripped fine.

It is an important distinction - ESP OFF only to help you in very specific situations, like getting out of a snow laden car park, or a very muddy field etc., where you may need to "charge" to build momentum etc., or to rock the car out of a particular spot. Even going uphill on ice/snow - in most cases, ESP ON will be better (see video below).

It would be wise to leave ESP ON or in SPORT when driving on a public road - this will undoubtedly save your bacon. I for one would not appreciate seeing you coming in the other direction spinning out of control.

Unless of course, you think you could do better than Tiff.

Reactions: lucas-suisse and ScottD3