1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally T28 conversion is done and working !!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Andy.B, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Its finished (well sorta) and working.. after months of planning and custom one offs, xmas postage etc.. the car came back from Hayward and Scott with its one off DP and while it was there a one off oval tail pipe.

    T28 is miles better than any K0 series turbo and thats only on 5 psi lol.. still running a bit rough but i have a few people that have offered one off engine management cheep, so will look into that soon. Just got to bed the turbo in and a few more oil changes then ill get the boost up :) Pix soon.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Good man, i look forward to pics etc

    What i spent on mine i could have put a larger turbo in, but this is also my DD so cant risk not being able to go see my kids etc etc due to stupid amounts of downtime
    Props to you my friend
    #2
  4. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Nice job, so is it on K03 mapping then?
    #3
  5. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #4
  6. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Yeh for now it's a bit rough but i have checked it with a wideband and its running a bit rich but its not unsafe.

    Got to decide which way ill jump with engine chipping or management :think:
    #5
  7. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Nice work, i do assume you have blocked up all of the breather pipes etc that used to go to the old airbox and the like? That will cause poor running etc etc
    #6
  8. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Mapping, injectors and a FMIC will sort out most of that.
    #7
  9. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Cant decide what to do with the big breather pipe i have cut down it seems like a block breather, so was thinking of putting it into a catch can on the inner wing with a K&N mini filter on the can?? The rest of the pipes to the charcole canister have been left alone and the small pipe to the original turbo hose has been blocked.
    Dunno if i should leave the old boost control valve plumbed in to the turbo/actuator.. i dont know if its that causing problems or should i just disconnect it and run the actuator to the inlet housing of the turbo?
    #8
  10. nomadx
    Offline

    nomadx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    looking cheeky Andy :D

    I too have had to recently ruin the look of my a4 with a towbar :(
    #9
  11. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Thanks mate, think the towbar is coming off soon as im selling the ski... Wakeboarding is the sport of 2008 lol and just so happens my mate has just bought a V6 4.2l Glastron speed boat for it :)

    What you using a towbar for these days?

    Hopefully funds will be able to stretch to a Standalone ECU to make full use of the conversion...
    #10
  12. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Looking good, Andy. Will be keeping my beady eye out for your car in Chelmsford.
    #11
  13. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Siena you may know the answer to the questions above?? Should i use the old n75 valve for now or just unplug it and run the turbo inlet to the actuator? As im not sure how the management works with this unit? Is it needed by the ECU or not?
    #12
  14. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    If using the stock Audi ECU, I'd keep the N75 valve, the ECU will go into limp mode otherwise.

    Called you a few times, and left messages regarding the dash trims, but have had no replies from you.

    ?
    #13
  15. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Cool thanks will reconnect it then hope i got the plumbing of it right... long pipe goes to the turbo, then the short pipe goes to the actuator then the other one will go to atmo... is that correct?

    Yeh i have had a few missed calls with no number, i was away last year for around 2 months and didnt have my phone on me. Got your voice mail but no number... Ill give you a call later once i have finished working. I have you number in a PM now so its all good. :rockwoot:
    #14
  16. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    i'm looking at getting Autronics stand alone ecu on mine (anti lag, launch control etc etc), if you can find someone to convert a loom and map a luminition ecu, i have one sitting in a box at home off my bmw supercharged project.
    #15
  17. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Looking good Andy mate:icon_thumright:

    I've sourced myself an oil catch tank. Just trying to find somewhere to mount the poxy thing now.
    #16
  18. 96a6v6
    Offline

    96a6v6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    WOW :icon_thumright: That is a very good job
    #17
  19. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Hmm sounds interesting i may have to look into it as Emerald now does plug and play ECU's for VAG cars now so all you need is a ECU and a loom adaptor.

    Do you know if luminition supports Direct Coil Ignition systems?
    #18
  20. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Yes, Lumenition supports coil-on-plug.
    #19
  21. billybravo
    Offline

    billybravo MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    andy my hat goes off to you mate your the first on here to do it just wish i could afford my fullrace manifold then im kinda sorted
    #20
  22. billybravo
    Offline

    billybravo MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    also u might want to have alook at running megasquirt its what i will be using you can get a coil on plug kit but i think im going to stick with the std ford set up using wasted spark
    #21
  23. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    My only concern with aftermarket management is that i will loose some of the dash functions or car functionallty?

    I open the question up to all of you who may know, which is the most affordable management system that works well with the A4?

    Megasquirt i have used before when i was doing fords, but not many mappers touch that system for some reason calling it cheep and old technology.
    #22
  24. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Nice one Siena, hmmm i may have to think about that... I will have to concider that i have never installed a propper ecu into a car before i'd be more confident if it were a Ford but Audi looks a little more complicated.
    #23
  25. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Looks almost factory :) nice one
    #24
  26. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Thanks :icon_thumright: i did try and use as much OEM equipment as i could but most of its is one offs or really modified audi stuff.

    Intotal the whole conversion cost me as much as a Recon K03 so im happy :)
    #25
  27. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2008]
    if you want something that will have wide support for mapping i would suggest motec. price wise it is a lot more. but so many people use it that it has a wide support for mapping. emerald sound like the best plan if they already doa lot of VAG stuff. when i had lumenition i lost some dash functionality, rev counter, service lights, temp gauge. but there are ways round this and i think some more modern ecu's are built to integrate with road cars more. with the audi i'm not sure what stuff actually gets feed from the engine ecu and what gets supplied by the central electrics.
    #26
  28. Biglockie
    Offline

    Biglockie Aye you know it makes sense

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2008]
    Lookin good fella, my GT28rs should be here shortly, I've heard emerald ECU's are good been looking into this for my work getting done at the end of the year
    #27
  29. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2008]
    i'd pick the mapper then see what they use, it's i'd say 50/50 between what the hardware can do vs the how good the mapping is. mapping just on a rolling road for instance isn't a realistic way of mapping a car if a map sensor is used without an air flow meter. as a rolling road can't 100% accurattly to my knowledge replicate real life driving.
    #28
  30. glen_jai
    Offline

    glen_jai Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 29, 2008]
    You A4 owners seem so much more adventurous with your bodykits/colour schemes than us S3 chaps.

    These are brilliant.
    [​IMG]

    I love the orange:
    [​IMG]
    #29
  31. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Feb 29, 2008]
    The top car is a standard colour and the Orange is a Audi colour just not meant for the A4.
    #30
  32. glen_jai
    Offline

    glen_jai Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 29, 2008]
    I see.... The orange looks very sharp.

    Nice A4 btw docurley. :icon_thumright: Very tastefully done. The silver with black wheels contrast works really well on your car.
    #31

Share This Page