1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally! booked in for AMD Stage 1

Discussion in 'Tuning' started by dik, Jan 26, 2006.

  1. dik
    Offline

    dik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 26, 2006]
    To say I am excited is an understatement... am booked in for saturday morning at 9.30 for a stage 1 RR Remap..

    Heres looking for 265+!! and all that torque 350nm+ hopefully

    Anyone else from here up there on the 4th Feb (a saturday).?


    A BIG BIG thank you to WAK for organising the map for me.
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 26, 2006]
    Well done. I am sure you will love it!
    #2
  4. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 26, 2006]
    What about revo?
    If i was starting again it would be either jabba remap or revo with sps3
    or apr
    #3
  5. dik
    Offline

    dik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 27, 2006]
    I`m not sure about revo, I wanted a smoother delivery out of the extra power, alot of people have said that the revo chip is too harsh early on so that put me off first.

    Also I wanted a rolling road session to get the chip 'tuned in' so to speak.
    #4
  6. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2006]
    how about apr then?Amd would be last on my list,well next to those one-man guys.How about mrc(minhea) also meant to be good.
    #5
  7. simonelman
    Offline

    simonelman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2006]
    He is not good

    but very very good.

    SimonS3

    MRCtuned
    #6
  8. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 27, 2006]
    Nothing wrong with the AmD map Ryan...

    Very smooth imo.
    #7
  9. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2006]
    what boost are you running dicky?
    #8
  10. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 27, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    what boost are you running dicky?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Cant remember exactly but approx 1.45 bar peak.

    Why do you ask?
    #9
  11. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    Just Interested.
    #10
  12. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,214
    Likes Received:
    1,661
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    Ryan, what we call an AmD remap is in actual fact a Sportec remap AFAIK. I've not had any problems with my stage1 remap, peaks at 1.4-15, then drops to just over 1bar. You can possibly question their service of late, though I've not had a bad experience from them myself, but their Stage1 remap is tried and tested by many, including myself.
    #11
  13. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    What about imola's 1.1bar remap and i believe there was a few others.
    Anyway if your happy thats good most of the remaps are 1.4/1.5 to 1/1.1 .
    #12
  14. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    Now I see where the extra power on a Jabba remap comes from. After i had mine done Mike told me its peaking at 1.6bar and holding 1.4bar. Still well pleased with the results. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
    #13
  15. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    hi steve,
    Not totally sure but i don't think a k04 can hold 1.4 till redline.Glens probably better to ask on this sort of thing .
    #14
  16. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    hi steve,
    Not totally sure but i don't think a k04 can hold 1.4 till redline.Glens probably better to ask on this sort of thing .

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I thought that too Ryan...
    #15
  17. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    Yeah i'm sure it's 1.1bar or something,it just runs out of steam.
    I would have thought mike meant 1.6 overboost to 1.4 then tappered to 1.1 at 6200.
    If you ever want to meet up steve i'l plug my vag-com in and log your boost for you.
    #16
  18. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    hi steve,
    Not totally sure but i don't think a k04 can hold 1.4 till redline.Glens probably better to ask on this sort of thing .

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It can't...

    I had mine basically flat out...way off the top of the ECU boost control and MAP sensor reading range...and although it could possibly have produced more than 1.85 bar peak...the decline in pressure was soon back on the compressor curve, with the compressor spinning flat out...and I couldn't get mine to hold more than 1.2 ish bar at the redline.

    Bearing in mind that at 1.0 bar at the redline, my standard IC'd car was seeing inlet temperatures of 78 degrees AFTER the ICs...there is no way a car on standard ICs could even run at 1.4+ bar boost from a K04. The inlet temperatures - assuming the hoses hadn't melted - would ment the engine internally.

    To run at much over 1.0 bar boost with aggressive timing needs either a big turbo, or some very special (efficient) ICs on a K04.

    With 2 x bespoke ICs (one a front mount), re-jigged IC pipework, de-restricted turbo outlet pipe, N75 and an aggressive map I could make over 1.2 bar sustained at the redline...but the turbo was spinning faster than it should have...and to be honest had become a hot air pump long before that. Hence the need for very special ICs..
    #17
  19. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I would have thought mike meant 1.6 overboost to 1.4 then tappered to 1.1 at 6200.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    I would think so too...
    #18
  20. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Now I see where the extra power on a Jabba remap comes from. After i had mine done Mike told me its peaking at 1.6bar and holding 1.4bar. Still well pleased with the results. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    One quick look at your boost curve will reveal all...

    Or alternatively, the peak boost value and revs...and the peak power at the wheels value and RPM...

    If you are making 1.6 bar boost...you are getting 310-315 lb-ft of torque from a K04...assuming the ignition timing hasn't retarded so far it's shut the engine down...or the engine let go from massive inlet temperatures!
    #19
  21. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    What about imola's 1.1bar remap and i believe there was a few others.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    This was the same re-map that had a torque graph showing 299 lb-ft of torque?

    From 1.1 bar peak...

    I think not.
    Imola S3 and I drove my S3 and his back to back...with mine in 305 lb-ft mode....and it was night and day in terms of performance.

    His was making 1.1 peak...mine 1.5+...
    #20
  22. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jan 29, 2006]


    [/ QUOTE ]If you are making 1.6 bar boost...you are getting 310-315 lb-ft of torque from a K04...assuming the ignition timing hasn't retarded so far it's shut the engine down...or the engine let go from massive inlet temperatures!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Just going off what Mike told me when I picked the car up. He definately said it was peaking at 1.6bar. The torque figures from the rolling road was 416.6nm which if my calculations are correct is 307lbft,
    #21
  23. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Yeah i'm sure it's 1.1bar or something,it just runs out of steam.
    I would have thought mike meant 1.6 overboost to 1.4 then tappered to 1.1 at 6200.
    If you ever want to meet up steve i'l plug my vag-com in and log your boost for you.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Maybe your right mate, still the main thing is how it drives on the road and I'm well happy with the way it performs. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
    #22
  24. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    Yep,Sounds like the most that can be squeezed out of a standard s3.
    What is the limiter on the s3 as mine has been raised to 7200 i believe.
    #23

Share This Page