1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

few questions for a B7 facelift conversion on a B6 cabriolet, any help appreciated

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by audi_conversions, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. audi_conversions
    Offline

    audi_conversions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 21, 2011]
    hi there,

    im planning on doing a b7 facelift to my b6 3.0 cabriotlet, iv checked many forums and threads and cant find the answers to the following questions, any help would be appreciated
    to my understanding i will need to change both wings, bonnet, headlights, front panel and bumper.... anything im missing?

    - will saloon b7 wings fit a b6 cabriolet or do they have to be from a b7 cabriolet?
    - will any b7 front panel fit my b6 or will it have to be a specific engine size?
    - does the bonnet have to be from a b7 cabriolet or will a saloon one fit?

    i think thats about it, i have read the b7 facelift threads and they do not have the answer to these questions, and i do not want to buy a hofele kit.

    also if any of you have any b7 parts i could use let me know as iv not started buying yet.
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. A4 nut
    Offline

    A4 nut Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 21, 2011]
    It all has to be b7 cab parts they bolt straight on saloon parts wont fit.
    #2
  4. audi_conversions
    Offline

    audi_conversions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 21, 2011]
    I was told bumper bonet front panel can be from a saloon?
    #3
  5. A4 nut
    Offline

    A4 nut Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 22, 2011]
    easier to buy a complete front off a b7 cab that you know that fits together than to mix and match but in all honesty buy a b7 it will be cheaper to do this and what about your rear it wont match ! you thought about this?
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
    #4
  6. audi_conversions
    Offline

    audi_conversions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 22, 2011]
    yeah im looking for a complete front end from a b7 cab but cant find it, and iv brought my cabby accident damaged so its wayy cheaper to facelift it then buy a b7.
    and as for the rear im sure the difference is just the 2 back lights which are not very hard to get hold of, and for the bottom i was thinking an s4 valance with quad exhaust tips.
    #5
  7. the jammy one
    Offline

    the jammy one Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    it defo has to be cab parts saloon will not fit at all i did lots of research into b6 b7 facelifts before decideing to get an avant and do it to that also try and use oem parts as copies are a real arse to gaop and line properly :)
    #6
  8. A4 nut
    Offline

    A4 nut Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    rear lights need a kufatec loom and then programming with vagcom and i only know one person that can do this and i have not seen him on this forum for a while.
    #7
  9. audi_conversions
    Offline

    audi_conversions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    yeah am trying to stay awway from copy parts as they dont line up rite, some one just told me since my cars a 3.0 v6 i can only use the front panel from a 3.2 v6 a4.

    and im not sure about any kufatec loom, some local facelifted his a4 and dint buy none of that he just had them fitted some how but il look into that at a later stage
    #8
  10. Watchthisspace123
    Offline

    Watchthisspace123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 29, 2011]
    Hi all I'm new to this but I decided after reading on the forum to upgrade my b6 cab to the newer b7, I bought all the parts that were advised on the forum then took the brave decision to strip the whole front end off my car. My plan was to take my car to a friends garage and have him replace the timing belts ect... At the same time. Long story short eventually striped my cars front end had the belts changed then started process of rebuild using genuine parts from b7 cabs ( only part that was copy was the front slam panel) after getting my car kinda together I relised the wings fitted the bonnet fitted but the bumper didn't, although genuine part. I eventually drove my car home from the garage nearly on tears as I thought I had wrecked it... Again long story short, I was going on holiday and decided to put my car into local body shop as if anyone could get it to look right they could.... It needs all resprayed the original silver but I got a call today saying they need £450 worth of parts to get the car to come together, they say parts are bolts and fog lights + cover plates + light holders for the new lights as they are not sitting on the new slam panel..... I thought this was really expensive and need advise??????? What to do??? I know the car looks better now as he's kinda got it looking right, but says it won't be right till all parts are bought. Also HELP NEEDED with the lights themselves, I basically swapped them over and as they are plug n play I thought they would work fine, they Don't ! Needs some kind of wiring loom as all sorts of faults are flashing on dash.... HELP. final question of advise... Can I fit an HID LIGHTkit to these b7 lights??? I bought one but don't want to mess my car up any further. Please Help Advise Experts!!! thankyou!!
    #9
  11. A4 nut
    Offline

    A4 nut Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 29, 2011]
    #10
  12. Watchthisspace123
    Offline

    Watchthisspace123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2011]
    Thanks mate... Any more help/ advice will be appreciated. Dean!
    #11
  13. Watchthisspace123
    Offline

    Watchthisspace123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2011]
    Anymore advice on the front lights anyone??? How do you rewire them?? Thanks
    #12
  14. audi_conversions
    Offline

    audi_conversions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2011]
    a friend told me since mines a cabriolet i wont need the kufatec wiring loom, the lights are a straight swap.
    #13
  15. Watchthisspace123
    Offline

    Watchthisspace123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 1, 2011]
    Hi, think the guys are right.... You need the loom for rear lights even if yours is a carb like mine..... But anyone know anything about the front lights, how to get them 100%, as only half working and faults on dash??? Cheers
    #14
  16. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Aug 1, 2011]
    you need the loom or they wont plug in at all plus you need to code them to work as they should
    iv done quite a few
    #15
  17. Watchthisspace123
    Offline

    Watchthisspace123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 1, 2011]
    Hi, are you talkin about a loom and code for my new front lights??? Not sure??? Thanks
    #16
  18. Watchthisspace123
    Offline

    Watchthisspace123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 9, 2011]
    Anyone got advise on front lights upgrade?? Do they need to be reprogrammed or something and where can I get this done? Thanks
    #17
  19. audi_conversions
    Offline

    audi_conversions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 14, 2011]
    iv not got as far as you yet, what car front panel did you use? and what size is ur engine?

    as for the front lights i was under the impression you could cut and solder the wires to make them work.
    #18
  20. the jammy one
    Offline

    the jammy one Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 25, 2011]
    i made my own loom went into audi and bought what they called repair wires and a connection block and trace what did what using a multimeter also took the light apart to see what pin lead to where ect then marked it all up cut out old connector and soldered mine in place :)
    #19

Share This Page