1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faulty volume on Audi HU's?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by AndyMac, May 9, 2008.

  1. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 9, 2008]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 20, 2014]

  3. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,203
    Likes Received:
    51
    [May 9, 2008]
    Aren't they kind of the same thing? Or at least the first one covers the other two!
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 9, 2008]
    They're all caused by the same design flaw, but are different symptoms.
    #3
  5. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    61
    [May 9, 2008]
    £95 seems mighty expensive to me
    the parts would likely be in the region of pence not pounds
    ive repaired a lot of amplifiers and they dont cost that much to repair
    if you know what your doing
    all the symptoms have exactly the same result

    im sure this is something very simple such as the lead from the volume control going into the op-amp being broken
    this will effectively make the op-amps go to full volume instantly and the outputs will follow suit
    #4
  6. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,770
    Likes Received:
    322
    [May 10, 2008]
    Its a chip failiure, but i do not know which one. A brand new unit can be had for £99
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 10, 2008]
    It's not actually simple at all, it requires a new microcontroller chip (MC68HC05 - the most expensive part of the entire HU), and reprogramming of the chip to prevent the issue happening again, so not really a DIY job.
    http://www.erta.ru/review/chorus-problem_eng.shtml

    Yes you can get a whole new HU for that money on ebay but it will eventually develop the exact same fault, which happens after 10,000 adjustments of the volume/bass/treble/fader etc on all models of the same design.
    #6
  8. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    61
    [May 10, 2008]
    sneaky bastards purposefully designing a head unit that is already flawed
    i was right with the volume control to op-amp though the chip is simply in the middle of these two

    i thought about this for years thinking how easy it would be to design a system which simply goes kapput after a pre-determined length of time or usage
    i wonder how many household items are exactly the same as this ????
    #7
  9. Shades
    Offline

    Shades Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 10, 2008]
    Err, you weren't right! A) Its not the lead and B) its not simple!

    Someone beaten you to it years ago... They're called Microsoft!
    #8
  10. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    61
    [May 10, 2008]
    so it isnt a direct connection i got that bit wrong
    the end result is the same its in between the volume control and the op- amp so i got that bit right

    as for simple that really depends on if you know how to change a chip or not
    #9

Share This Page