1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faulty Viper DV????

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by JamesA3, Jul 1, 2004.

  1. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been getting a lumpy tickover and also intermittent loss of power between 2-3k in first and second, last night when it happened the power dropped and at the same time I heard the DV go like I had lifted off but I hadn't. The fault only started happening after it was remapped and had the DV installed

    I was thinking of fitting the N75J what do you think?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. pure

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    get the prob u have at the moment sorted out b4 u fit an n75j mate.
     
  4. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was hoping that would sort it

    only problem is when the dealer had it they gave it me back and told me it was turbo lag /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif

    I suppose I could take it back to AmD
     
  5. pure

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    have u checked on vag-com for any error codes?
     
  6. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't have vag-com but the dealer said it wasn't showing any codes
     
  7. pure

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    try a standard DV, check your hoses etc. might be a leaky hose.
     
  8. Banwell

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    how long has the dv been on the engine or how many miles - they do need servicing every so often..
     
  9. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    the DV was fitted when it was remapped and the problem started within a few weeks of this
     
  10. Banwell

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    could it be a coincidence and its the coil packs that have gone?
     
  11. Banwell

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh and was it a chip or direct port remap?
     
  12. MingBluS3

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    i suffered performance problems roughly two weeks after having it remapped, replace the cheap parts first to eliminate those. Leave the MAF till last, N75 and DV are cheap, i would suggest cleaning the MAF with some Electrical contact cleaner before you replace it.

    Good luck fella
     
  13. Banwell

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    personally I would be knocking on your tuners door before the dealers..
     
  14. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    it was AmD's stage 1

    I thought it was the coil packs but when I got the dealer to check it they said it was fine.

    is cleaning the MAF easy? also is this fault indicative with a MAF failure?

    what I can't work out is why it only happens at certain engine speeds and in low gears.

    think I'll give AmD a call
     
  15. MingBluS3

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    look mate it's hard to tell but i bought a can of electrical contact cleaner and done it myself. It's easy to do and might make a difference. Mine took about an hour cause i sprayed it 3 times and allowed it to evaporate totally before i applied the next dosage.

    All AMD will say is bring it back, might not be very convenient. N75 and DV should can be got from the local stealers. I'm going to change these as soon as i can phone the stealers and get them on order. I' doubt my local will have them in stock.
     
  16. MingBluS3

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i did it through the grid first but then i managed with a bit more force to get the sensor out and give it a damn good spray. You still need a torx star screw bit for removal.
     
  17. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    MingBluS3 said:
    You still need a torx star screw bit for removal.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You need a security type torx bit.

    Rich
     
  18. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank for the help lads /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  19. MingBluS3

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich what do mean a security torx bit?

    I managed to use a standard torx head that i found in my toolbox.
     
  20. Mike.M

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,293
    Likes Received:
    166
    There is a hole in the middle of the torx/star bit
     
  21. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    S3 Mike said:
    There is a hole in the middle of the torx/star bit

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Correcet /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Banwell

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    what size? 25 or 27 and is it five star or six!!
     
  24. Banwell

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    lets hope not as AMD has been quoted as saying the later modela run a 25 5 star torx or torx plus to be totally correct.
     

Share This Page