1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faulty TPMS ?

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by g00se, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. g00se
    Offline

    g00se Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    25
    Hi all,

    Long time lurker yadda yadda...

    Can someone tell me if VAGCOM can identify a faulty TPMS sensor?

    I have a warning light on my '06 S4, but i'm not sure which wheel/sensor has packed up, and what the cost of repair will be.

    Thanks in advance!

    goose
    #1
  2. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,831
    Likes Received:
    837
    Hi, and welcome to the forum.

    I didn't know you could get TPMS on the B7. Hope you find an answer.
    #2
  3. skipsmith
    Offline

    skipsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive got it on mine, when i bought mine the sensors and valves had been removed from the wheels so i had the warning light on, a local garage falsley diagnosed the sender unit when it was the fact that the units werent even fitted,Audi units and valves are about £100 each but i got some off e bay from Taiwan for £30 each, hope that helps, the correct valves are alloy as opposed to the normal rubber.
    #3
  4. g00se
    Offline

    g00se Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thanks jdp.

    Yeah its been bugging me for nearly 2 yrs now!!!

    Looks like this...

    [​IMG]

    And the manual has this in...

    [​IMG]

    cheers,
    goose
    #4
  5. g00se
    Offline

    g00se Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    25
    ooh cheers skip, I'll go check the valve stems now!

    You don't happen to know the Taiwanese part numbers do you????

    Thansk very much,

    goose

    UPDATE: Just checked and they are all alloy... i just need to find out now how to identify the faulty one ?!? :think:
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2012
    #5
  6. skipsmith
    Offline

    skipsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cant remember the part no but they are allways on e bay, the bateries in the sensors only last a few years so if ones gone the others will soon follow
    #6
  7. Stepho
    Offline

    Stepho Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had them on my RS6 and removed them as simillarly kept flashing up every few months. Also found the alloy and steel together was causing corrosion of the wheel. I just had the rubber valves fitted and the TPMS light never came back on. Hope this helps. Cost all in was about £80 and that was at a main dealers (was in for DRC issues)
    #7
  8. Ste_Nova
    Offline

    Ste_Nova Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    43
    I unplugged the Tpms ecu behind the glove box an my a6, no more annoying light...
    #8
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    lol, well yes unplugging helps, but its one of those pita jobbies, as advised I would have batteries swapped out on all if you want system functioning, but if you go into the tpms module 65 iirc, it will have some measuring blocks to show the sensor signals, should anyway, which then can determine hopefully which one is down.
    #9
  10. g00se
    Offline

    g00se Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    25
    Awesome - thanks NHN!

    goose
    #10

Share This Page