1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faulty coil

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by TURBOTRONICS, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. TURBOTRONICS

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think one of the coils has gone on my 03 s4 v8 but not 100%
    Its seems to have dropped a cylinder and the engine management light is on
    I have ordered a coil which should come tomorrow but will the engine light go out once the new coil is fitted or will i have to have the fault codes erased
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. CMD

    CMD Pointing Forward's!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    17
    Audi coil pack's are known to fail so it's good practice to carry a spare.. The AA charged me £40 for one.
     
  4. TURBOTRONICS

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was that the reason you called the AA if so what happened to the car
    How did it feel I mean and did the light come on on the dash and did it go out again once the new coil was fitted
    Sorry if im barking up the wrong tree
     
  5. coyote

    coyote Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    If the coil has failed your car will probably be in limp mode also (no power at all above 3k) . To reset the fault code you will need vagcom or I think disconnecting the battery for 10 mins will clear it also.:thumbsup:
     
    #4 coyote, Aug 25, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  6. Phil MC

    Phil MC SerialAudiOffender

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think any fault code reader with a reset facility will be able to get rid of the fault code and engine management light.
     
  7. TURBOTRONICS

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i disconnect the battery will this not affect the rns e is it coded
     
  8. TURBOTRONICS

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    just changed the coil and plugs while i was doing it and hay presto sorted it i just need some one to clear my fault codes now thats in the wigan area
     
  9. coyote

    coyote Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    You can buy a cheapo lead complete with vagcom off ebay for around a tenner and clear the code yourself.
     

Share This Page