1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faulty coil

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by TURBOTRONICS, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. TURBOTRONICS
    Offline

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    I think one of the coils has gone on my 03 s4 v8 but not 100%
    Its seems to have dropped a cylinder and the engine management light is on
    I have ordered a coil which should come tomorrow but will the engine light go out once the new coil is fitted or will i have to have the fault codes erased
    #1
  2. CMD
    Offline

    CMD Pointing Forward's!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Aug 25, 2010]
    Audi coil pack's are known to fail so it's good practice to carry a spare.. The AA charged me £40 for one.
    #2
  3. TURBOTRONICS
    Offline

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 25, 2010]
    Was that the reason you called the AA if so what happened to the car
    How did it feel I mean and did the light come on on the dash and did it go out again once the new coil was fitted
    Sorry if im barking up the wrong tree
    #3
  4. coyote
    Offline

    coyote Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 25, 2010]
    If the coil has failed your car will probably be in limp mode also (no power at all above 3k) . To reset the fault code you will need vagcom or I think disconnecting the battery for 10 mins will clear it also.:thumbsup:
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
    #4
  5. Phil MC
    Offline

    Phil MC SerialAudiOffender

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 25, 2010]
    I think any fault code reader with a reset facility will be able to get rid of the fault code and engine management light.
    #5
  6. TURBOTRONICS
    Offline

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 25, 2010]
    if i disconnect the battery will this not affect the rns e is it coded
    #6
  7. TURBOTRONICS
    Offline

    TURBOTRONICS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 25, 2010]
    just changed the coil and plugs while i was doing it and hay presto sorted it i just need some one to clear my fault codes now thats in the wigan area
    #7
  8. coyote
    Offline

    coyote Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 26, 2010]
    You can buy a cheapo lead complete with vagcom off ebay for around a tenner and clear the code yourself.
    #8

Share This Page