1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

faulty cd changer!!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Sm3g, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. Sm3g

    Sm3g STANDARD S3 (225bhp)

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    hey guys,the cd changer in my 52reg s3,is refusing to play a cd,it justs making some groaning noise for about 10seconds then comes up with ERROR 3?????

    i carnt load anymore cds into the unit as all 6 slots are full,

    any ideas on if anything can be done to fix it,or is it going to be a full new sympothy unit????
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Sm3g

    Sm3g STANDARD S3 (225bhp)

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    any ideas guys,anything will help me out??:sadlike:
     
  4. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    can you remove all the cds?
     
  5. Sm3g

    Sm3g STANDARD S3 (225bhp)

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    no mate,all 6 slots are full.and it wont let me eject any of the cds either,its doing my head in just listening to the radio!haha
     
  6. MingeBlue

    MingeBlue Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    same problem ive had it 3 years, i listen to radio and dug out my old early 90's Graham Park and Groove Rider dj tapes lol.

    CD is basically jamed you need to get the unit out and try and open it up to sort it out. It seems to common issue, I dont have security code for mine so never bothered taking it out.
     
  7. Sm3g

    Sm3g STANDARD S3 (225bhp)

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    im debating just buying a 3nd hand replacement from ebay,but just need to know if the same radio out of a audi a6 will fit straight in as there are a few for sale on ebay??
    think this might be the easier option as getting it fixed maybe expensive!!
     
  8. Dicky A

    Dicky A New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Grale1

    Grale1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    44
    How about the cable from h/u to changer? I've had them go on me in the past on non vag cars
     
  10. Sm3g

    Sm3g STANDARD S3 (225bhp)

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    its the symphony 2,so its the built in cd changer mate in my head unit its all built as one!! im taking it to a repair shop on saturday but im not holding my breath as im pretty sure its probably fecked,,or will cos me more to repair than a new one:-(
     
  11. Dicky A

    Dicky A New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Sm3g

    Sm3g STANDARD S3 (225bhp)

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    alright guys

    quick update i took my radio to shop and they wanted £120 to fix it,iv just picked up a 2nd had genuine symphony ll,from ebay for £30 as the lad had lost the code for it,,my question is that if i take it to the shop and get it de coded will it just go straight into my car and work fine,as a mate said each radio is unique to the cars vin number is this true?????
     

Share This Page