1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faulty AFM - Signs ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Jasdent, Feb 9, 2007.

  1. Jasdent
    Offline

    Jasdent Mahonee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2007]
    Alright ? seem to have a lot of questions needin answered ! :)

    S3 is supposed to be 265hp but doesn't feel like it. I understand that the AFM are supposed to be a common fault on these cars, what's the best way to confirm a fault in the AFM ?

    cheers,

    G.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. Jasdent
    Offline

    Jasdent Mahonee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 12, 2007]
    Nobody able to help me with this ?
    #2
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    1,969
    [Feb 12, 2007]
    AFM is called a MAF on your Audi, a faulty one would make your pewerdelivery uneven, like the power is coming on and off throughout the rev range, or you may get the 'V-Tec' effect, where the power delivery comes in 2 stages at around 4k revs, this would suggest a intermittent MAF problem. f it's totally fooked, it will feel like the engines holding back when you give full throttle, the power seems to be there, but it won't unleash itself.
    #3
  5. DavidR
    Offline

    DavidR Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 12, 2007]
    Best solution is to find one that works (off another car / new one) and swap them over. Reset the ECU and try the car again.

    If you have VAGCOM you can plot actual vs command boost pressure - if command is much higher than actual the MAF can be suspected.
    #4
  6. Jasdent
    Offline

    Jasdent Mahonee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 12, 2007]
    Yeah, I am thinking I have problems with it then. The car can quite often caomes and goes when I am accelerating and also get a choke effect when I stick the foot down.

    Anyone know the best place to get a new one at a decent price ? someone was telling me they quite often come p/xchange for the old unit, is this true ?

    Also is it just a case of changing it and everything should be fine ?

    cheers guys, lot of help !

    G.
    #5
  7. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    1,969
    [Feb 12, 2007]
    £80 exchange from your local Audi stealership bud, or just buy the sensor part from GSF parts for 55 quid or so, and you need a star bit to take the old one off.
    #6
  8. DavidR
    Offline

    DavidR Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 12, 2007]
    Ebay, VAGPARTS, Eurocarparts etc...

    Change it (you'll need a fancy hollow torx bit for the newer cars), reset the ECU (pull the fuse or disconnect battery) and it should be fixed if the Maf was at fault.
    #7
  9. Jasdent
    Offline

    Jasdent Mahonee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2007]
    Perfect, cheers very much guys !

    any benefit in replacing the whole unit to just the sensor part ?
    #8
  10. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2007]
    no point replacing the whole unit mate, sensor will do yo ufine
    #9
  11. Lord Vader
    Offline

    Lord Vader Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2007]
    Do you have to reset the ecu, as i changed mine recently and suspected the new one to be faulty as when you reved the engine and allowed the revs to fall, it would try to stall , but then sort itself out. So i sent it back.

    Should i have reset the ecu and if so will this mess up any of the other settings in the car?

    Thanks
    #10
  12. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    1,969
    [Feb 13, 2007]
    No resetting needed, it's plug and play :)
    #11

Share This Page