1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fault codes since remap

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Broken Byzan, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    Hi guys, more than anything i am hoping for clarification. Since the remap our 2001 A3 1.8TQS occasionally fails to start and then throws a code. It will start after several attempts once the ECU has decieded to power up (indicated by the ECM light illuminating)

    The secondary pump code is due to crash damage from when she first wrote the car off, so no worries there. The DV is a brand new 710N and all boost connections were checked when i was underneath doing the clutch at the end of last month so i assume its a generic code thrown as the boost requested and actual figures don't match.

    The concern is the ROM one, is that the bit that gets flashed when a car is mapped? And do you think this would casue the ECU not to power up?

    Codes as follows:
    Control Module Part Number: 06A 906 032 BJ
    Component and/or Version: 1.8L R4/5VT 0002
    Software Coding: 10710
    Work Shop Code: WSC 00000
    Additional Info: blah blah blah
    4 Faults Found:
    16989 - Internal Control Module: ROM Error
    P0605 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
    18010 - Power Supply Terminal 30: Voltage too Low
    P1602 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
    16795 - Secondary Air Injection System: Incorrect Flow Detected
    P0411 - 35-00 - -
    17705 - Pressure Drop between Turbo and Throttle Valve (check D.V.!)
    P1297 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    anyone have any ideas? Its the Failing to power up an the ROM error that gets me. What else would stop the ECU powering up? And then would that in turn make it show bad ROM, or vice versa?
     
  4. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    you've got a chippeduk map if i'm not mistaken? My one throws an overboost error now and again due to the requested and actual boost not matching but I think you need to investigate the Rom and voltage errors.

    The ross tech wiki says the following for the voltage error:

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/18010/P1602/005634

    but there's nothing on the ROM issue. You could email ross tech and ask them about that code?
     
  5. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer...
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Team Sepang Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    414
    Maybe your ECU is on it's way out? Read somewhere on VWvortex that this a possible problem with the ECU and might need replacing, but some reported that getting the map reflashed by the company, who originally mapped the car fixed the ECU error.

    The above could also be cased by your battery's bad wiring or battery itself being on it's last legs, as per Westle's post, so I would sort that out first and see if the ecu code comes back after clearing it.
     
  6. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    Cheers, they both come back sadly. I am still trying to track the ECU/Wiring power fault as when i goes the car wont start. The ROM one i am hoping a re-flash will fix it as surley the ROM is the bit they flash?

    I have replaced the ECU relay located under the bonnet, any other suggestions?

    Oh and thanks for the replies so far guys
     
  7. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Have you tried another battery just in case?
     
  8. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    Batery isnt very old and holds charge fine, cranks the car over for ages no probs, the charging system works too according to my trusty old multi meter, but i may swap the a4 one in to be 110% sure its ok
     
  9. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,329
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Check elsa to see if terminal 30 has connections to the other parts like secondary air pump etc & if so this could be the problem there, also check ignition, see if this is also on the same term 30 circuit mate, just an idea, but if you're saying only after the map these came up I'd get the map company to reflash or return the ecu to stock & then check for the codes to see if they are caused by the flashing, I doubt its battery given turns over so well, but anythings possible, if the secondary pump isnt getting power then of course this will cause problems.
     
  10. The Slug

    The Slug Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    mines also shows

    Internal Control Module: ROM Error

    Weird as i was also asked, has it been mapped? Altho has lambda b1 s1 fault and N112 open circuit, which may have something to do with the ROM error....if anyone else can shed some light it would be much appreciated Cheers
     

Share This Page