1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fault Code help

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by way318, May 4, 2011.

  1. way318
    Offline

    way318 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2011]
    Hi, does any one know what causes this fault code :- 01314 - Engine Control Module - No Communication.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    [May 4, 2011]
    Here are some ideas on the Ross-Tech Wiki: 01314
    #2
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 6, 2011]
    Have you done or had done any work to the car of late?
    #3
  5. way318
    Offline

    way318 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2011]
    Not as far as I know, as it was a mates car with the fault code.

    He took into a VW/Audi specialist, they checked it over and told him he needs a new cluster @ £645.

    Not sure the price of these, but that does seem expensive.
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 17, 2011]
    Huh, so the fault was comms with ecu & they then denoted cluster needs changing, what car was this on as wanna check if the cluster is the gateway for comms to ecu as this is only reason I know of to change cluster, then again if it controls network for other modules these may fault aswell, but limited info from you isnt helping the fault find mate, can you advise anything else, like car, year, etc etc.
    #5
  7. way318
    Offline

    way318 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2011]
    Hi mate, it was a A4 56 Plate 07MY B7 Avant 2.0 TDI (170).

    Spoke to my mate today and he said that the garage said the only way they could get the car to start was to remove the 10A fuse for the cluster and the put it back in. After he got the price off the garage he spoke to Audi about the cluster problem and they have told him its a common problem with his model and are willing to do a deal on getting it resolved, so he got it booked into his local dealer this week.

    Will let you know how he gets on.
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 17, 2011]
    Thanks for letting us know.
    #7

Share This Page