1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FAULT CODE FOUND...

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Izzy1, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    put my car on Vagcom last night and the following code appeared....

    18062 - please check DTC memory of instrument cluster
    P1654 -35-10 --- intermittent

    anyone know what it's for?

    :sos:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    Did you get that from the 'Instruments' module?
    #2
  4. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    hi mate,

    it was found in the "Engine" module.

    hope this helps
    #3
  5. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    Try doing a fault code scan in the 'Instruments' module.

    While your in there, run an 'Output Test' as well to make sure all the gauges are working ok.
    #4
  6. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    the car came back with a couple of faults but i just cleared them with out paying much attention. think one was to do with some oil pump leak or something. but i've just recently have a load of work done on the car. have the following replaced:
    Water pump
    Cambelt
    alternator belt
    a/c belt
    oil filer
    fuel filter
    air filter
    pollen filter

    could this have triggered some of the alarms?

    also when running the Gauge test they all seemed to work and return to the middle apart from the petrol needle. that was hovering just past the half way mark.

    any ideas of what's going on?

    all help appreciated

    thanks
    :thumbsup:
    #5
  7. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    Fault which appeared was to do with the "temp sensor" hope this helps.
    #6
  8. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    Did the temp sensor fault appear under the 'Instruments' or 'Engine' module?

    Temp senders cost peanuts to replace, so that will be a nice easy fix. If it's the cluster, it could cost you.

    If the garage who did the work forgot to plug in a sensor before they turned the ignition on, it will have triggered a DTC. Best advice is just to check for fault codes again in a few days to see if any of those DTCs reappear.
    #7
  9. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    any idea of where i could locate the temp sensor? :uhm:

    will find and check to see if it's plugged in properly.

    pics welcome.
    #8
  10. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    ok here goes....

    I put my car onto Vagcom again last night and the following codes re-appeared:

    ENGINE
    18062 - please check DTC memort of instrument cluster
    P1654-35-40 intermittent

    INSTRUMENT
    01039 coolent temp sensor (G2)
    30-10-open or shut to B+ - intermittent.

    any help on resolving these would be greatly appreciated.

    thanks guys
    #9
  11. electricracer
    Offline

    electricracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    coolant temp sensor faults are dead common just change it cost hardly anything usually about a minute to fit just make sure engine cold when you do.

    instrument panel could be at fault sounds like it has issues anyway if fuel gauge does not work correctly. you might be best sending it away to be fixed (someone like bba-reman) as new one from audi will be loads of coin and second hand one will need to be coded and that could open up a whole new can of worms
    #10
  12. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    i dont think its saying the instruments are faulty,

    i think its saying "theres a fault, you'll find more about it in the instrument panel"

    Instruments are telling you theres a coolant temp sensor fault, which affects both the instruments and the engine, so it makes sense.

    Replace the CTS and you'll likely be fine!
    #11
  13. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    thanks a lot guys,

    now my next question...

    where is the CTS located? :uhm:
    #12
  14. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    on the 1.8T it sits in the water gallery on the rear of the block, not sure on a TDI though
    #13
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    yeah I have to agree, I think the temp sensor is causing both, stands to reason cause the temp sensor does work in conjunction with the cluster, so if thats got a sporadic fault it would throw dtc's in cluster no doubt, but temp sensor is so common & easy to replace, same on the 8L, so common & was a 1 minute fix, its always the green sensor I believe on 8L at front right
    #14
  16. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2008]
    was driving my car this morning to work. it's a 30minute drive so you would expect the temp to go up a little or atleast to 90.

    mine stayed at 60 and didn't seem to want to budge.

    is this happening cause i may have a faulty temp sensor?
    #15
  17. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 10, 2008]
    With a faulty temp sender then you've no way of knowing what the true temp actually is.

    If the temp sender was sending a false high temp signal then the ECU will have made the water pump work constantly which would result in lower than normal coolant temps.

    I changed my ECT sensor last year. It was literally less than a tenner for the part (make sure you get the clip and the O-ring as well).
    #16

Share This Page