1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fascia Adaptors for A3

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by finster, Mar 16, 2003.

  1. finster
    Offline

    finster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2003]
    Hi all,

    Has anybody got any experience of using the fascia adaptors for fitting an aftermarket HU ???

    I know autoleads do one but seem to remember reading on the old AS.net site that it wasn't brilliant.

    IIRC there are other ones around that 'wrap' around the Head Unit, but I can't seem to find any info on them....

    Cheers,

    Andy.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. mramage
    Offline

    mramage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 16, 2003]

    Hi. I've got one of the Autoleads one and it isn't particularly great. I looked for a wrap-around one also, but couldn't find any. I've seen pics of one installed in an A4, looked very nice.

    If you do come find one, let us know /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #2
  4. tomsinclair
    Offline

    tomsinclair Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2003]
    I have the autoleads one in my S3 they aren't that bad like it is the wrap around type I got.
    #3
  5. mramage
    Offline

    mramage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 16, 2003]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Mark R said:
    If you do come find one, let us know /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif


    [/ QUOTE ]

    That'll teach me to hit the continue button while reading what I typed!!!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush2.gif
    #4
  6. finster
    Offline

    finster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2003]
    Well I got an autoleads one but it doesn't seem to fit....

    When I stick the plastic bits into the bits that are screwed onto the dashboard, there are big gaps (ie around 10mm) in between the plastic and the HU.

    It was a bit of a squeeze so I was considering that maybe the front of the HU should go in front of the bits that are screwed on and flush against the bits that snap in. If I do this though, the HU will be sticking out by a fair amount from the dashboard.

    Anybody got any ideas ????

    Cheers, Andy.

    PS Would be a lot easier to explain if I had a digital camera !!!!

    #5
  7. mramage
    Offline

    mramage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 6, 2003]

    Andy, I didn't fit mine myself, but the guy at the shop said they required "modification" to fit properly. I did notice that they used some blask resin/semi-glue kinda stuff at the side holding them in place.

    I don't know what they looked like originally, so I don't know what mods they've done /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
    #6
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 7, 2003]
    Mine required a bit of moddin' too. There are small tabs at the back I snapped off to get them flush & removed the 4 bits of rubber (I then covered the whole front in a sheet of 'brushed Aluminium' to hide them, but it looked cheap so I ripped it back off - it didn't bend round the edges like the 'carbon fibre look' stuff does if you heat it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/burningmad.gif).
    #7
  9. tomsinclair
    Offline

    tomsinclair Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2003]
    I phoned Audioleads technical dept. and speaking to someone there this is the adaptor they recommended for the S3 and it fitted without any sort of modification. I decided to phone them after the ones I received were obviously not the right type for the facia.
    #8
  10. danh
    Offline

    danh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2003]
    I've got the Toledo one as well. Started with the standard two part but it looked woeful. Can't remember which website I was on which came up with it - probably Autoleads.
    #9
  11. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2003]
    The Seat Toledo fits the facelifted models and the 4 piece kits fit the pre facelifted models. I had the same scenario when fitting my Sat Nav. Got it done in the end and the Seat adaptor fits great. It is listed in the Autoleads catalogue for the A3 as well.
    #10
  12. finster
    Offline

    finster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2003]
    Cheers guys,

    I have a humble A3, not an S3, but I take it that the factory fitted Head Units are the same, so the Seat adaptor should fit mine ?????
    #11
  13. ChrisT
    Offline

    ChrisT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2003]
    The other option I have heard about is to get the audi!! one. Apparently if you order a blanking plate for the stereo you also get the bits you need to install an after market unit. Give Martyn at VAGParts.com a shout and see what he has to say.

    Inigo told me about this wherever he is, been rather quiet lately on both boards ...

    Cheers,

    Chris.
    #12
  14. Slammer
    Offline

    Slammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 13, 2003]
    I also ordered the original Audi fascia adaptor (15 Euros), it should be arriving this week, so I'll post some pictures for you guys then /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #13
  15. Slammer
    Offline

    Slammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2003]
    These fascia adaptors are the best I've seen...
    Anyway, my original Audi A3 fascia adaptor will be arriving tomorrow, so I'll post some pics of it then.
    #14
  16. tomsinclair
    Offline

    tomsinclair Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2003]
    Go to www.autoleads.co.uk and look under fitting solutions and you can look up the model and year of your car and it will tell you what adaptor you need.
    #15
  17. finster
    Offline

    finster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2003]
    Just checked on autoleads,

    For pre-facelift, it directs me to FP-05-02 (which I already have and doesn't fit properly)

    For post-facelift, it says to use FP-18-00 (the Seat Toledo one mentioned earlier).

    Seeing as my FP-05-02 doesn't fit mine properly, does anyone know if the FP-18-00 one will fit any better ???

    Cheers.
    #16
  18. lewy
    Offline

    lewy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2003]
    still can't believe that theres 25 posts about this
    #17
  19. Slammer
    Offline

    Slammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 14, 2003]
    My fascia adaptors arrived yesterday, but there is no point in posting pictures...I had an accident and my car is messed up
    #18
  20. Neal_A3T
    Offline

    Neal_A3T Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2003]
    Slammer,

    that pic you posted was my car /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    I bought mine from Audi, cant remember the exact cost (£10ish) This fits ferfectly as you can see.. and looks like its an OEM part of the dash its so good /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Here is an enlarged pic...

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    Neal.

    #19
  21. ultramodz
    Offline

    ultramodz 06 A4 2.0T FSi S-Line SE

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Dec 6, 2003]
    i've got a '99 A3, and hence the centre panel is different to the one shown in your pic. shame, coz the fit looks spot-on!

    i've resorted to fibre glassing the autoleads ones in place, and painting the whole panel.


    #20
  22. dafunkymonkey
    Offline

    dafunkymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 12, 2003]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Gambba said:
    And still with my new HdU they don't look great, better but not great...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Gambba,

    You can make the top of the adaptors sit flush like the bottom buy doing a bit of filing and cutting until they fit. My adaptors looked like that originally before I hacked them around. Give that a go, it really changes the look.

    Chris
    #21
  23. Leddy
    Offline

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 15, 2003]
    does anyone have the part number for the OEM kit?
    #22
  24. Leddy
    Offline

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 17, 2003]
    Anyone? My local dealer can't find it on ETKA. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cry.gif
    #23
  25. finster
    Offline

    finster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 17, 2003]
    Got the following info: -

    Part No: 8L0 051 459 A B98

    But as you can see from my above posts, I aint happy with mine - it just doesn't seem to fit....

    Hope this helps though.

    Andy.
    #24

Share This Page