1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FAQS - FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ON THE 8V CHASSIS

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Sandra, Sep 14, 2013.

  1. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,174
    Likes Received:
    2,382
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    I have created this thread for you to add any useful information/links that may be useful to others. I will from time to time update any info. Hope you all take the time to share your knowledge of your own experiences which may be a benifit to other new and existing members. Thanks all. :) x
    #1
    SJW and First Ever Audi like this.
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. kmx_200
    Offline

    kmx_200 A3 8V Chassis

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    Hello all, Bulb Upgrade for A3 S-Line 8V Chassis:

    I've now changed all filament style Bulbs with LED bulbs.
    In case anyone wants to know what LED lights can be used in the A3 Sline 8V Chassis:

    Vanity Mirror use this style: 36mm Length
    [​IMG]
    Glove box (1) , Interior front (1) , Interior Back (2) use this style:

    [​IMG]
    #2
    STERLING VOID, Smythy and Sandra like this.
  4. Daveotto
    Online

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    389
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    Picture of tyre inflation pressure label on drivers door taken from 2.0TDI 150BHP Sportback.

    Would reccommend checking tyre pressures after collection as have been a few reported instances of incorrect pressures, possibly due to confusion on wheel size at PDI.
    #3
    Karl Alesbury, Smythy and Sandra like this.
  5. dieseldoug
    Offline

    dieseldoug Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Sandra
    Looking for assistance here, can anyone of the guys with the technical know how help my wife out as she has the habit of coming out of the car without activating the hand break.
    Is there any modification that can be done so the hand break can be applied when the key is in the off position. This is the 2nd time she has done this.

    Doug
    #4
  6. Schizophonic
    Online

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Put a sticker on the windscreen to say "put on hand brakes darling :)"
    #5
  7. constvoid
    Offline

    constvoid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Can hold assist be retrofitted?
    #6
  8. Sherbs
    Offline

    Sherbs Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    The A7 that I have at the moment automatically puts the hand brake on if you put it in park and then get out. It does have hold assist, so I don't know if this is part of it!
    #7
  9. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Manuals don't tend to have a 'park'!
    #8
  10. dieseldoug
    Offline

    dieseldoug Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    The dealership says they cannot fit hill hold assist, I asked if they could have the hanbreak applied when the key was in the off position again no reply from dealership. I may have to dig deeper into this as my wife is unhappy but that's the way things are going with cars.
    I may have to contact Audi and see if this can be an upgrade, I don't see it as a big cost only software
    #9
  11. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    Surely it's just a case of getting used to it? It's just the same as any car with a mechanical handbrake - you have to pull it up to engage it when you come to a stop!
    #10
  12. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    Hold Assist isn't just software, there's an extra button as well - though I can't see it being hard to fit
    #11
  13. dieseldoug
    Offline

    dieseldoug Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Oct 2, 2013]
    Just my wife being forgetful or having other things on her mind as woman usually do driving only gets them to the shops quicker...
    #12
  14. A3sportbackMark
    Offline

    A3sportbackMark Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    230
    [Oct 27, 2013]

    What can the DIS display?

    Before I got my car, I was unaware of what could be displayed on the DIS.

    There are really too many to list here and in many instances display multiple data, but can give you an overview, all controlled by the the 4 buttons on the left hand side of the MF steering wheel.

    There are 4 top menus
    1. Car computer
    2. Music/radio
    3. Phone
    4. Navigation

    For each of the above, there is a sub menu, and under that you can scroll/select further options

    The car computer sub menus are (from memory - names may not be accurate)
    a. Computer
    b. Efficiency mode
    c. Digital speedo
    d. Blank display

    Again the scroller allows you to display various options on the above.

    The car computer allows you to display both short term (which can be reset) and long term (cars liftime) statistics
    1. Average Mpg
    2.instantaneous mpg
    3. Average speed
    4. Time of journey
    5. Time
    6. Date
    7. Number of miles left in the fuel tank
    8. Probably some I have forgot!


    The music/phone/navigation also have options to display, but not that many.
    i have the SD card sat nav, so this displays basic sat nav info (I usually use the main MMI for this)

    several bits of the above information may be displayed simultaneously, which are mixed and match between menus. For instance in the computer menu, the current music track is also displayed at the top of the screen

    You really need to play with it to appreciate it fully.

    Hope this helps!

    Ps. This is for my car, cars built with other options may have more on the DIS.
    #13
    vakaviti, Schizophonic and Sandra like this.
  15. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Oct 27, 2013]
    Car Computer also has an 'Assist' screen in the menu, if you have lane assist, ACC or both, which shows you some graphics about what they are doing and the state of them
    #14
  16. Schizophonic
    Online

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Jan 21, 2014]
    Can someone point me correctly what should my PSI when pumping up my tyres?

    I've got 225/45 R17 V

    When I checked the pressure it was 29 PSI. I've going to have 4 people in my car over the next few days for a long journey and wasn't sure how much exactly I should be pumping my tyres. There's two columns and which one should I follow?
    #15
  17. Daveotto
    Online

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    389
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    According to photo of Door label, post #3

    When fully loaded should be 38 front & 41rear
    #16
  18. cbotved
    Offline

    cbotved Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    Just looked on eBay, is it right that these LED bulbs are costing around 120£?
    Sound crazy high to me
    #17
  19. The Challinor
    Offline

    The Challinor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    242
    [Apr 11, 2014]
    Presume with LED interior lighting they are not needed?
    #18
  20. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Apr 12, 2014]
    Sounds way too high to me as well. I'm not sure what they should be but I wouldn't expect more than a few quid each really. t8ups on here sells them, might be worth asking him.
    #19
  21. wills_1990
    Offline

    wills_1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    #20
  22. kayemill
    Online

    kayemill Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 10, 2014]
    Would it be possible for you to post up the second image again?

    I have bulbs from my 8P, I assume I will be able to swap over to 8V.
    #21
  23. kmx_200
    Offline

    kmx_200 A3 8V Chassis

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jun 10, 2014]
    LED Car Light T10 1.5W 80LM DC12V High Power Blue Light(1 Pair)

    Any bulbs with a t10 fitting should work. See above link for fittment type. Make sure they aren't too big for the holders tho.
    #22
  24. kayemill
    Online

    kayemill Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 10, 2014]
    OK Thanks.

    Looks like it will be a new set for the new car then. The ones I have will do the vanity mirrors but the rest will need to be new.

    I'm assuming the S3 doesn't have interior LED's without the Interior lighting pack?
    #23

Share This Page