1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FAO those who already have their shiny new cars!

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Foshiznik, May 12, 2014.

  1. Foshiznik
    Offline

    Foshiznik Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2014]
    Hi all, first thread from me, so go easy on me!

    I have searched this topic, but can't find any relevant information.

    Does the car come with SD cards included? I have gone for the Tech pack, so know i won't have the SD Card for the sat nav, but do you receive cards with the car or are they to be bought separately? If they do, what size are they?

    Thanks!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. andywil13
    Offline

    andywil13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    41
    [May 12, 2014]
    uploadfromtaptalk1399899105513.jpg
    #2
    Foshiznik likes this.
  4. steeve
    Online

    steeve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    255
    [May 12, 2014]
    No SD cards are provided, you need to buy your own........................

    I think there's a max size specified in the handbook, but I used 16gb in mine.
    #3
  5. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [May 12, 2014]
    No SD cards provided. Since you have the tech pack, the nav is all HDD based, so no SD card for that either.
    #4
  6. andywil13
    Offline

    andywil13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    41
    [May 12, 2014]
    They don't come with sd cards unless you but the sd card maps. They just take normal sd cards
    #5
  7. Foshiznik
    Offline

    Foshiznik Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2014]
    Nice one. Thanks guys. I believe that you can use up to a 1tb SD card x 2 but they are going for about £350!

    andywil13 - What is the CD slot for?
    #6
  8. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [May 12, 2014]
    CDs!
    #7
    s3saloon likes this.
  9. mjcourtney
    Online

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    241
    [May 12, 2014]
    CDs....:p
    #8
    s3saloon likes this.
  10. Foshiznik
    Offline

    Foshiznik Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2014]
    Now i look silly... :blush:

    I just guessed that would be on the dash, but having thought back to the test drive, I didn't notice a CD slot!
    #9
    mjcourtney likes this.
  11. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [May 12, 2014]
    It's good, I like it hidden away like that, especially as I don't use CDs any more anyway (not since my last 2 cars have had MP3 support via USB or SD card!)
    #10
  12. BGS
    Offline

    BGS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    70
    [May 12, 2014]
    Or DVD's :)
    #11
  13. andywil13
    Offline

    andywil13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    41
    [May 12, 2014]
    ive watched Act of Valor in my car with the B&O - sounds amazing
    #12
  14. RossR
    Offline

    RossR Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    119
    [May 12, 2014]
    I assume this was with the car stationary but the engine running for nearly 2 hours?
    #13
  15. andywil13
    Offline

    andywil13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    41
    [May 12, 2014]
    You don't need the engine running. Just ignition on. Only watched the first scene where all the action starts, sounds amazing when bullets fly past into the back of the car
    #14
    s3saloon likes this.
  16. RossR
    Offline

    RossR Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    119
    [May 12, 2014]
    You'd need the engine on if you were going to watch a full movie though.

    I've got the tech pack but DVD playback still seem a bit of a gimmick to me. Good fun for a few minutes, but not useful in the long run. Also, most of my best "demo" movies are on bluray.
    #15
  17. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    361
    [May 12, 2014]
    It is good that it is hidden but it isn't good that it robs more space from the meagre amount of storage in the A3. They could have put it under a seat of even a multiplayer in the boot...
    #16
  18. Flibble
    Offline

    Flibble Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    73
    [May 12, 2014]
    My handbook says 64 GB max, I wouldn't rush out and buy those 1 TB cards just yet... ;)
    #17
  19. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,013
    Likes Received:
    897
    [May 12, 2014]
    These work well, will play H.264 720 HD video from the card
    Class10 or UHS Speed Class 1 (U1) @ 10MB/s (min)


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 13, 2014
    #18
    Foshiznik likes this.
  20. James Chr
    Offline

    James Chr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    [May 13, 2014]
    I have a 128 gb card and it works just fine.
    #19
    Foshiznik likes this.
  21. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    I haven't specced the Technology Pack, does the standard setup have 2x SD Card slots available for media or will one be taken if you add SD Card Sat Nav?
    #20
  22. glospete
    Online

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    153
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    I believe that if you spec SD navigation one slot will be taken by the nav SD card.
    #21
  23. bobinder
    Offline

    bobinder Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    Can you use both slots for maps?
    #22
  24. glospete
    Online

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    153
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    Not as far as I know but I can't be sure.
    #23
  25. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    Thanks, I'll just buy one SD Card then.
    #24
  26. Relliott6879
    Offline

    Relliott6879 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 27, 2014 at 11:30 AM]

    Do all cars have DVD playback, or just those with the tech pack?
    #25

Share This Page