1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

F*%"^£$g Symphony!!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jcb, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    Radio has finally popped its clogs.
    volume alwasy went high on first start of the day, learnt to live with it.
    now it has a complete minds of its own.
    turn it down and it goes to maximum, turn it up and it goes up , and up and up to maximum!
    short of driving round playing techno on full blast for the full Chav effect I am resorting to playing my iPod at very low volume and the radio at vHigh!

    Its a 99 facelift with Concert radio/cassette and CD changer in the boot.

    what are my options for OEM replacements? does the concert radio/CD player swap straight over
    Anyone ever fixed one of these volume issues?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. Dan Gliballs
    Offline

    Dan Gliballs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    I have the very same problem in the S4 LOL. Drives me mad when the car is cold!!!!

    I have the same head unit in the A6 though and it's as good as gold (same age even). Most odd.
    #2
  4. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    There are 2 types fitted - either Panasonic or Blaupunkt, though externally they look the same.

    The Blaupunkt versions don't appear to suffer the volume issues.
    I use a very good guy to repair them, in the past 2 months, he's successfully repaired 9 units for me, he's really good. Turnaround time is 2 days.

    You'll have to send your unit to me though, if you want a repair.
    #3
  5. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    cost? what does he repair? some capacitor in the volume switch?
    #4
  6. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    Its a chip that needs repair/changing its to do with the way it saves the volume information basicly the chip cannot be programmed any longer so resets to defaults. A new unit is available form ebay for around £90 IIRC plug abd play
    #5
  7. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    Do audi not exchange units?
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    #7
  9. electricracer
    Offline

    electricracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    just got one last week from stafford audi off ebay or ring 01785250444 delivered next day for £108.99, just needed vag com to turn on bose swapped straight in came with code. supposedly its fitted with a modded chip and came with an audi 2 year warranty. i'm well happy with it
    #8
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    They've really got a nerve haven't they?
    How exactly did they explain the need for a modded chip?
    Design flaw perhaps? In which case how on earth have they got the gaul to charge for a replacement unit when it should be free of charge on a recall?
    #9
  11. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    I put the CD player type in mine. Its not a straight swap as you need to sort out the illumination which you can buy an adapter for or do the wireing yourself.

    [​IMG]
    #10
  12. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    tricky job?
    #11
  13. electricracer
    Offline

    electricracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2008]

    the units are not made by audi but made for audi. yes i agree that it is a design fault but where do you draw the line at responsibility. mine lasted 10 years before it had the fault, what sort of warranty would you expect to have on a car, ford cd players pack in much sooner (lasers stop working) and they are £300. if you bought a light bulb and turned it on and off 10000 times and it stoped working would you say that its faulty or just reached the end of its life. if any part of a car goes faulty should all cars have a recall because they to might fail. next time a MAF,brake light switch or temp sender goes faulty try getting them as a recall and see how far you get and these are far more common failures. yes it shouldn't happen but it does and its annoying i agree but i think they would only recall anything on safety grounds or in the case of 1.8T ignition coils no action would cost them sales
    #12
  14. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 23, 2008]
    mine is a 99, so it lasted about 7-8 years.
    I think £90 is pretty good considering. if indeed it is a new unit or it is recon?
    still like to know if I can upgrade to a CD player without a degree in electrical engineering
    #13
  15. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 23, 2008]
    You're missing the point big time.
    All the items you've listed as examples do NOT have a design flaw that has since been rectified, they just wear out. That's the difference. Coil packs were flawed, they issued a new design and provided replacement free of charge regardless of their age. Should be exactly the same with the flawed head units. Recalls are nothing to do with safety or the age of the vehicle, just recognition that there was a mistake that's now been rectified. The HU should outlive the vehicle.
    #14
  16. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 23, 2008]

    ever seen fight club?

    recall only happen is A+B > C
    C being the cost of the recall
    A and B being legal suits, class actions and loss of sales.


    anyway....back to my point, who here has wired in a concert CD player into a B5?
    #15
  17. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2008]
    Not at all.
    #16
  18. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 23, 2008]
    any details?
    #17
  19. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 24, 2008]
    Erm lol yeah i have it all have give me to the weekend and ill find out where i got the cables etc.
    #18
  20. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 24, 2008]
    nice one cheers.
    don;t se ethe point in getting another tape player as I have no tapes!
    #19
  21. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 24, 2008]
    me either i actually have not seen one for years now....
    #20
  22. AB5QTS
    Offline

    AB5QTS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 6, 2009]
    Mine has just started to do the MAX VOLUME thing over the last couple of days. Bloody hell it gives me fright every time. Gonna wear some ear plugs just in case me thinks. Will speak to my mechanic and see what he can do:wacko:
    #21
  23. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 6, 2009]
    I just don;t touch mine anymore and use the ipod to control volume!!

    have a nice new cubby in the back left now also (CD changer started pissing around so I took it out!)
    #22
  24. hardhitter
    Offline

    hardhitter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 6, 2009]
    Who's the best to get this problem fixed, in the uk ?
    #23
  25. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2009]
    Hmmm, I am interested in fitting a CD to my A4.

    Also, is there an easy and clean way to run an MP3/Ipod/Blackberry through your sterio in an early A4 ?
    #24
  26. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 7, 2009]
    will post a pic, but I have a tape to 3mm jack adaptor.
    I ran the cable down behind the gearstick, up the back of the facia and in to the radio.

    no cable s at all and the pod just sits in reach behind the gearstick.
    just select "Tape" and shuffle
    #25
  27. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,871
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Dec 7, 2009]
    Maybe you dont mind sh*t quality music, but those tape things are awful. I guess its different person to person but i even find listening to the radio a bit crappy.

    The best solution is to bin the hunk of a standard head unit and fit something half decent.

    If you have full bose you can probably hack together a line in using the pre-out feeds to that, but its sketchy at best imo.

    I know some people prefer the OE look, but personally, the OE look doesnt bother me, and i'd much rather my music sounded good than the dashboard looking flat. A bit of careful selection of headunit and you can find something that fits in just fine.
    #26
  28. jonnycraig
    Offline

    jonnycraig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2009]
    How can you tell if you've got the bose system in your car? Other than its probably louder lol :readit:

    J
    #27
  29. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 7, 2009]
    So... the CD changer in the back - what head-units can utilise it? (mine's an '00 facelift model)

    I've got a Blaupunkt HU, and I've plugged the CD changer cable into the back of it (as the connector fits) but it doesn't work. So I'm just using my iPod that I've plugged in it's place.

    Would be nice to have it working with my Blaupunkt (Munchen CD52) HU though...

    Aragorn, I went for this HU for my old E30 BMW as it looked like it was meant to be there... and I've transferred it across all my (German) cars and it's looked good in all of them. Fits perfectly with the A4 dash as it's just black&white and has red illumination with it. Perfect!
    #28
  30. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 7, 2009]
    Ha ha,
    I do mind "shitty quality music".
    But when you have a 3" exhaust, 245 profile tyres and a fully polybushed car ....... picking up the whether the drummer has keys in his pocket on the soundtrack of whatever is playing is not an option.

    and anyway, MP3 is a **** format and iPod's produce poor quality sound by comparison to other players or full CD versions.
    If you really want high quality music don't listen to in a car.

    my tape thing works just fine to drown out the road noise and full bore exhaust tone ;)
    #29
  31. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,871
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Dec 7, 2009]
    Lol fair enough, i just cant be doing with it. You turn up the music to drown out the car noise and then the music is just as annoying!

    My head unit has MP3 playback built in from CD's and the music i "aquire" is generally all in high bitrate or high quality VBR MP3 which unless you're a full on audiophile with the best of kit is perceptually lossless anyway.

    I normally get annoyed at the radio, because a decent tune will come on, you wind up the volume and then you can make out all the interference and nastyness thats coming over the signal.

    Geeman: yer i fully agree its perfectly possible to get a decent aftermarket system that looks fine. Our head unit is a Pioneer P3630MP:
    http://pioneer.vdlabs.ru/2002-2003/receiver/img/DEH-P3630MP.jpg

    Only "bling" is the two round dials, the red illumination is a good match for the rest of the dash, and the white display is inoffensive.

    Johnny: If its bose it should have bose stickers on the speaker grilles and an amp up the rear somewhere.
    #30
  32. Nitro
    Offline

    Nitro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 21, 2009]
    My A4 has the Audi Concert Bose stereo in it, and it is now doing the volume thing, try turning the knob and it goes to full or nothing. After reading this I am confused as to what is the best way to fix it. do you go for a replacement unit or get the chip fixed? If so please give me details of who to contact as I want to fix this asap.
    Thanks
    #31
  33. hardhitter
    Offline

    hardhitter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 21, 2009]
    I have found a company called maple audio in Bath that can fix it. They replace a chip.
    Waiting till after xmas to send it off to them.
    #32
  34. Road Razor
    Offline

    Road Razor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 21, 2009]
    The volume thing seems to be a common problem. My Concert stereo has a similar problem but it happens frequently during the winter from a cold start. I've had no issues every other season. It hates the cold (to put it non-technically).
    #33
  35. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 21, 2009]
    It is a design flaw, and will get worse the more you adjust the centre knob. It starts on cold mornings then eventually, when it's completely run out of memory, will do it all the time. 10,000 adjustments of volume/bass/treble/fader etc in its lifetime and that's your lot. Bin it and get something of this century. If you want to keep everything looking stock then get a Becker GP.
    #34
  36. Nitro
    Offline

    Nitro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 21, 2009]
    Where do you get a Becker GP from and how much ? Do they fit in the original dash hole and are they compatible with the original Bose Amp and CD player, do they look the same as the original unit
    #35

Share This Page