1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Exhaust Gasket Material, Which ones do you use

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Andrew@A.L.D, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    #1 Andrew@A.L.D, Feb 22, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,003
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    OEM mani/head all day long... never seen one go...

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    I have a standard gasket between the head and the manifold, its just the turbo to down pipe thats gone on mine or it could be just the nuts that have come loose?
     
  5. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,003
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    Not unknown... I have a v-band housing rather than a 4 bolt... you could use nord locks and go gasket less... I don't have a gasket between the mani and the turbo and v-bands everywhere else...

    Those fibre gaskets aren't all that... a metal gasket is preferable... the TT Bill is fitting a GT3076r too is a 4 bolt for the DP but not sure what gasket he is using...

    I was gasket less on the previous T25 internal gate housing too...

    <tuffty/>
     
  6. MUSH

    MUSH MUSH Developments Ltd.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    11
    Surely thatl be a pain of a job on yours Andrew? Im dreading mine going, would be a right faff on replacing that!!
     
  7. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    Its not that bad really as the down pipe is well put together so its easy to fit and remove

    Just a few bolts that are a pain
     
  8. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    you think?
    the one here sux... big time!
     
  9. MUSH

    MUSH MUSH Developments Ltd.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gutted, mines just started blowing, knew i shouldnt have looked at this thread!!
     
  10. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    You have the same manifold as me don't you.

    I think mine is coming from the manifold to turbo? Will smoke the exhaust on the weekend to see if it is? If it is the compressor housing has to come off to get the turbo off
     
  11. MUSH

    MUSH MUSH Developments Ltd.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yep same manifold. Only started making noise today!! The heatshielding around it is blackened by the soot. Ill not get to have a look til saturday now. Doh!!
     
  12. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Where can I get nord locks from? Also can they be used on exhausts as I have a blowing gasket I still haven't got around to sorting
     
  13. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,003
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    Bill @ Badger5 keeps them in stock as he uses them on his builds etc but it won't fix a blowing gasket... you will need a new gasket for that ;P

    Generally speaking they are used for the turbo to mani fixings as this sees the most heat cycling... I have used them on my exhaust manifold but that was purely because the last time I did some work on that area the studs had backed out but that was more due to me not checking the studs where fixed in properly when I rebuilt it (was was supposed to be a recon)

    Not seen bolts further down on exhausts back out as yet... which ones are you thinking about

    <tuffty/>
     
  14. MUSH

    MUSH MUSH Developments Ltd.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    11
    Any fixing place stocks nordlocks..
     
  15. MUSH

    MUSH MUSH Developments Ltd.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    11
    Chuffed, found my blowing problem. I cracked off my wastegate dump pipes and found this...


    Wastegate dump pipe was loose at the manifold. Quick reach around ;) with a 13mm spanner from the cold side and its all tight now. Woop woop
     
  16. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    All mine will be off tomorrow to see where my leak is

    Fitted all the coilovers, Rear ARB, Tie bars, and drop links today
     
  17. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    It was the turbo the manifold that made them way loose

    See it is off i'm making all metal water lines and a new oil return line as the CTS ones arn't that good
     
  18. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    true.. CTS kit is poor in many respects sadly..
    rhd fitment my arse!
     

Share This Page