1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

esp light

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by chiefkris, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. chiefkris
    Offline

    chiefkris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    My esp light has come on. The cars showing no fault codes and I've cleaned the maf as I heard that could be it. It hasnt worked, any help as too what it could be?
    #1
  2. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    362
    I'm near certain there was an ESP thread only last week! Have a search.
    #2
  3. Best84
    Offline

    Best84 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6
    Out of interest...why would the maf throw the esp light?
    #3
  4. SmithyAG
    Online

    SmithyAG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    59
    What did you scan the car with? Not all readers communicate with the abs/esp Ecu. So they show no faults in the main ECU but one could be logged in the other.
    #4
  5. Dave-S3
    Offline

    Dave-S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    116
    What car do you have?
    #5
  6. chiefkris
    Offline

    chiefkris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scanned with the liquid gauge I have and it's a 2006 2.0 tfsi
    #6
  7. SmithyAG
    Online

    SmithyAG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    59
    Like this one Race Diagnostics Ltd - liquidA3/S3 opions ?

    Although it looks a nice bit of kit that can read a lot of sensors, it doesn't specifically say it reads the codes from the ABS ECU, so may be that's why it isn't showing a fault. If the ESP light is on to indicate a problem then there will be a code somewhere, is there no information shown on the DIS (if your car has it)?
    #7
  8. chiefkris
    Offline

    chiefkris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the one! Ah I see I'll have to take it to be scanned then. Nope every time I turn the engineon the light comes on and it just says refer to manual
    #8
  9. Dave-S3
    Offline

    Dave-S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    116
    Sounds like it could be the G201 pressure sender fault 01435, was common around that era of VAG models, there is a VAG oem repair kit out now (when i had the fault there wasn't such a repair kit and it was either a new ECU at £1500 or a recon one at about £600 fitted) The repair kit is about £150 now i think. Sure someone else will be along soon with some more info, it might not be that though!
    #9
  10. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yea I had the repair kit on mine, was about 170, and few hours labour job done, sure the brake fluid needs changing at same time too
    #10
  11. Dave-S3
    Offline

    Dave-S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    116
    Yeah the brake fluid needs changing too.
    #11

Share This Page