1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ESP light comes on and stays on.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jiffi77, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. jiffi77
    Offline

    jiffi77 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2010]
    Yesterday my ESP light came on and stayed on, when I switch the car off and on again light comes on when i press the brake pedal, read the fault codes last night using Vag-Com and this is what I got:-
    Address 03 -------------------------------------------------------
    Controller: 1C0 907 379 E
    Component: ESP FRONT MK60 0103
    Coding: 0019970
    Shop #: WSC 06435
    2 Faults Found:
    00526 - Brake Light Switch-F
    008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    01435 - Brake Pressure Sensor 1 (G201)
    008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent

    I understand some of the VAG group car suffer from brake switch problems, is this a known problem on the A3, mine is a late 2000 (face lift model) A3 1.8T 5 door. Any help would be great as I don't want to just start replacing parts for the sake of it.
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,136
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    [Jan 27, 2010]
    Brake Pressure Sensor 1 (G201) is on the master cylinder IIRC which is prob why the ESP light has come on...

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/01435

    Could be something as simple as corrosion on the plug...

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. jiffi77
    Offline

    jiffi77 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2010]
    Was hoping that maybe the faulty switch could be the cause of the second fault.
    #3
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,136
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    [Jan 27, 2010]
    Brake pressure switch works from the movement/pressure of the master cylinder, brake switch sits on top of the pedal box... mechanically seperate and as far as I am aware are not symptomatic of each other if faulty.

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  5. jiffi77
    Offline

    jiffi77 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2010]
    Just checked my brake lights and there not working, so I'll start with the brake switch as they only cost £10 from the stealers.
    Does anyone have a guide or any info for fitting these, especially removal of the lower dash panel which looks like it will need removing to gain access, as I don't want to damage anything,
    also I read on another site that the switches are easily broken during fitting.
    #5
  6. eagle_s3
    Offline

    eagle_s3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2010]
    jiffi77,

    Have you fitted your brake switch yet? You might want to have a look at this thread to help with fitting. http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=1158315
    Not sure if the fitting is the same on the A3 but it the switches should be very similar.
    #6

Share This Page