1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Engine Types

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Quattro_Lew, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2006]
    Can anyone explain the characteristics of the different engine types, i know the AGU lump is supposed to have weak water pumps etc, mines an AJQ, can anyone shed info about this one?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Secret Squirrel
    Offline

    Secret Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2006]
    It's a very good engine the AJQ.
    Have you seen this thread?
    #2
  4. ANDYTQ
    Offline

    ANDYTQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    AJQ is ko3 not ko3s type turbo,so less power when chipped,water pump is the same **** plastic impellor type that everyone has,when changing the cam belt put a brass impellor gsf one on.
    #3
  5. Booth_S4
    Offline

    Booth_S4 Riding on V8 power

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    i thought the s3 had a KO4 turbo?
    #4
  6. Timbo
    Offline

    Timbo Slowest car ever round the Top Gear track?!?

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    It does. Quattro_Lew has a 1.8TQ not an S3.
    #5
  7. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    just call me lew :)

    yeah booth were talkin about the TQ
    #6
  8. urquhart
    Offline

    urquhart Polo GT(130pd)

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    am i right in saying that the engines without the drive by wire (i.e. AJQ) are harder to remap? some companys can't do then?

    just that i think i have the AJQ and was going to get it remaped.

    i see some people have replied saying that have drive by wire on this engine,is there any way to make sure if it has a drive by wire befor i go and book the car in to get remaped?


    132 kW (180 bhp) Engines in A3

    AJQ
    Date: 11/98-08/00
    Drive: Haldex 4WD
    Emission: non-VVT, EU3
    Throttle: cable
    Injectors: big
    Turbo: K03
    Gearbox: ? (5 Speed)


    cheers
    #7
  9. dantheman1986
    Offline

    dantheman1986 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    mine has an ajq engine and definatley dbw
    #8
  10. KEF A3 20V T
    Offline

    KEF A3 20V T Turbo's Rule

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    i think you mean the AGU, that is throttle cable, dont think its much harder to remap tho!

    read on the jabba website they have to remove the ecm to do it rater than flashing it through the obd connector!
    #9
  11. KEF A3 20V T
    Offline

    KEF A3 20V T Turbo's Rule

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    #10
  12. ANDYTQ
    Offline

    ANDYTQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Oct 26, 2006]
    I have ajq and its definately drive by wire,no cable throttle
    #11
  13. urquhart
    Offline

    urquhart Polo GT(130pd)

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2006]
    had a look lastnight and mines is a DBW.

    thanks for the help.
    #12

Share This Page