1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Engine Start Button Upgrade

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)' started by S6 LeMans, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. S6 LeMans
    Offline

    S6 LeMans S6 LeMans Man

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2009]
    Has anyone got any idea if it would be possible to change the old square plastic button to the new 09 model Chrome version?

    As you can see from the pictures below - the original housing/surround is still the same in the new 09 model year centre section. So I guess all that would be required from a dealer is a new housing and button - plus whatever time is involved in removing/accessing the console.

    Current version

    [​IMG]


    New version [ left hand drive though ] + CHROME ENGINE START

    [​IMG]



    Close up of button and its housing/surround

    [​IMG]

    I also like the neat chrome touch to the park brake.


    If you can easily change the panel = great

    I'm in at the dealers tomorrow - i will ask and report back
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 1, 2009]
    I would say it would be fairly easy to do, as the footprint is the same, however, it is just a button or is there some logic involved. You may want to ask a8tech (forum member) the question.
    #2
  4. elan2s
    Offline

    elan2s Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Sep 1, 2009]
    #3
  5. S6 LeMans
    Offline

    S6 LeMans S6 LeMans Man

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 1, 2009]
    Dropped my car in for some work today at the dealers - I had emailed them this question & they think its as easy as swapping it over?? The part is £30 - but is on back order. But to make doublely sure - they are checking if theres no other software change required??
    I have told them once that's established - then order me one ASAP :icon_thumright:

    They did say that when the change took place on the A8 - that was no problem - but the A6 they have no experience as yet.
    #4
  6. S6 LeMans
    Offline

    S6 LeMans S6 LeMans Man

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 1, 2009]

    Thanks for the link - it confirms can be done :icon_thumright:



    But for those wanting to know imm. Here is how


    Audi A6 C6 Engine start/stop button removal and installation:

    Materials: Plastic spatula (anything that will not scratch), paper towel

    [​IMG]

    Remove the leather boot around the gear selector using the spatula wrapped in the paper towel (to avoid scratching). There are four tabs, as shown below. Start by inserting the spatula on the passenger side of the boot.

    [​IMG]

    With the boot out of the way, remove the gear selection indicator by applying upward pressure from underneath

    [​IMG]

    Now the start/stop button can be removed by using your fingers to push it up and out.

    [​IMG]

    8 pin--direct replacement

    After [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Its a nice easy mod for something you will see every time you get in. There is a similarly facelifted parking brake switch available.

    :hubbahubba:
    #5
  7. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 1, 2009]
    That looks very easy.
    #6
  8. S6 LeMans
    Offline

    S6 LeMans S6 LeMans Man

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2009]
    It's even easier than that........... I managed to pull/lift out the entire housing for the stop/start buttons just by using my fingernails - its that easy - they are not held in tightly at all - there is just a small spring bar retainer clip at each end.
    #7
  9. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 4, 2009]
    Yo must have fingernails like a Gorilla, there is no way im chipping my nail polish to do that mod LOL
    #8
  10. S6 LeMans
    Offline

    S6 LeMans S6 LeMans Man

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2009]
    It was even easier than previously described:-

    Fitted the new push-button switch in less than a minute last night.

    Simply use a credit card edge [ or similar ] to slot into the gap/surround of the original switch to assist in uplifting the switch assembly proud of the console. . . . . . then easily pulled proud with enough spare cable behind it. The switch is connected with a simple to remove/replace single cable.

    Attatch the new switch - replace in console = Job Done

    Total cost = £34
    #9
  11. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 9, 2009]
    Like Paul Whitehouse says in the Aviva ad, "Bargin"
    #10
  12. Golfather
    Offline

    Golfather Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2009]


    All you need to do now is upgrade your steering wheel and your dash trim ;)

    [​IMG]
    #11
  13. gravissima
    Offline

    gravissima New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 22, 2010]
    Hi! i am trying to do this but my dealer has got the wrong switch.

    Does anyone have the RHD UK part number, i have only found a US lHD one?

    Thanks
    #12
  14. gravissima
    Offline

    gravissima New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2010]
    I found it and thought I would post it for info.

    It is 4F2 905 217E VUV.

    It cost £38 inc the VAT and easy to fit.

    I used a small watch screwdriver inserted into the switch (ignition key left in the house just in case) and it just opped out with just gentle pressure. Looks great!
    #13

Share This Page