1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Engine rear torque link

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by MURRAYS444, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Jun 21, 2010]
    Just asking has anyone had problems with this as one of the bolts has fallen out of mine when changing gear I found the bolt lying on the road and put it back in does anyone know what might have caused this?
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,373
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    [Jun 21, 2010]
    Loose bolts....

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Jun 21, 2010]
    Yeah got a bit worried but the thread on the bolt was ok and I just out it back in cheers for the response!
    #3
  4. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Jul 15, 2010]
    Ok the same bolt has came out again :mad: and all I know it came out going round a bend I put it back in again but does anyone know what the problem could be?
    #4
  5. Matt82
    Offline

    Matt82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 15, 2010]
    definately due to being loose lol

    have you looked at the thread on the bolt?

    your torque wrenching it properly?

    i think those are stretch bolts anyway. go down the dealer and get a pair of new bolts
    #5
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,373
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    [Jul 15, 2010]
    ^^^ what he said... or use threadlock... new Audi bolts are mostly threadlocked anyway...

    <tuffty/>
    #6
  7. Matt82
    Offline

    Matt82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 15, 2010]
    i was thinking thread lock... but that would be over kill and would be masking the problem. the manuals dont mention it and ive not taken one off yet with thread lock on it

    thread lock wont do any harm but it could mask the problem, ie if the captive nuts are damage
    #7
  8. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Jul 15, 2010]
    I just used a wrench to tighten it up and I didn't want to thread the bolt, but the thread on the bolt was ok apart from marks left by it hitting the road. I have marked up the head of the bolt to see if there was any movement but bolts are cheap I think I will buy a new one tomorrow
    #8
  9. AARON77
    Offline

    AARON77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Jul 16, 2010]
    ptfe tape???? spring washer
    #9
  10. Y83OLK
    Offline

    Y83OLK Hulk Smash!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 16, 2010]
    My threads ripped out of the gearbox.. had to put a helecoil in.
    Possibly similar?
    #10

Share This Page