1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Engine Mount

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by jay786, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2012]
    How many Engine mounts on a 2002 Audi A4 1.9 TDI AVB ..?

    Ive got a engine mount solenoid fault and tryna figure out which one .. is there only one engine mount ..??? :s

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. kite
    Online

    kite Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Mar 24, 2012]
    I think there is only one with wires going to it. Think its the near side one.
    #2
  4. marktdisport
    Offline

    marktdisport Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Mar 24, 2012]
    yep only one with wires to it but if the others are goosed it will pick up the knock and show a fault.....mine had
    a stored fault and it was the rear gearbox mounting causing the fault i have a brand new front engine mount without the wiring in me boot:icon_thumright:
    #3
  5. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 25, 2012]
    so how do i know which one is faulty ..?

    im getting error short to B+
    #4
  6. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 25, 2012]
    it may be a case of getting under it and wiggleing in with a crowbar to see whats lose mate, iv got an issue too at this point and as i type this im dressed to be rolling around under a car :tumble:
    #5
  7. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Mar 25, 2012]
    If there's only one electric engine mount, and you've got an error code then its safe to assume that the mount with the wires to it is at fault. Just check the wires aren't damaged before you going ordering a new mount.
    #6
  8. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 25, 2012]
    thats unfair, i've got 2!
    #7
  9. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    V6 vs straight 4. Which would you rather have?
    #8
  10. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    V-V-V-V-V-V-V VOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM :icon_thumright:
    #9
  11. Small_loss
    Offline

    Small_loss New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 25, 2014]
    With Multiple Wired engine mounts like on the V6, you can determine which one(s) are faulty using VCDS (even in shareware mode).
    > Clear fault codes, start / rev engine fault should re-appear
    > Disconnect engine mount sensors one at a time, clear fault codes, start / rev engine, and you will find with the faulty one disconnected the fault code does not reappear.

    Other than this test, I have found no way to ID which one is bad. Cant see anything physically wrong with bad one.
    #10
  12. AlexGSi2000
    Offline

    AlexGSi2000 Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jan 26, 2014]
    I had the same fault on the V6, to find the one that was dead I measured resistance with a multimeter.
    #11

Share This Page