1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Engine coding failing

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by mramage, Sep 15, 2013.

  1. mramage
    Offline

    mramage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 15, 2013]
    This has been driving me mad for the last 2 months!! I retrofitted cruise control (2009 s3 stronic facelift) no probs. the steering wheel coded fine and diag shows all buttons working ok.

    The problem is the engine coding. Setting the cruise control bit just doesn't seem to take. I've tried doing them in different orders, ignition off and on, ignition left off and the apparently sometimes needed TBA. It says coding accepted, but then it just doesn't work. When I reopen the coding the bit is unset again, even after all the things above. It's really weird. Just wondered if anyone had seen anything similar.

    I should say this is not a genuine cable in use. If people have seen issues like this I guess it would be a good reason for buying the proper one!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Sep 15, 2013]
    I have a genuine lead I live near Aberdeen if your near i could help ,I would advise buying one from nhn on here am sure he will give you a good deal and assistance.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2013
    #2
  4. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Sep 15, 2013]
    Have you actually activated it?

    [Select]
    [01 - Engine]
    [Login - 11]
    Enter 11463 to activate cruise control
    [Do It!]
    After doing this procedure, there should be a letter "G" in the Component field.

    Try doing that first then changing the coding in 16/steering wheel.
    #3
  5. mramage
    Offline

    mramage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 15, 2013]
    It's a different coding style for the diesels, the s3 uses the long coding cruise control bit setting.

    Chillout, thanks, bit far away though!!!!
    #4
  6. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Sep 16, 2013]
    Log in to engine module, long coding activate cruise, do it, when it says coding accepted, log out of engine mode completely, turn ignition off, and take out key, wait at least "30 secs" then put key in ignition on, then take for a spin. I have retrofitted well over a hundred on various Audi's and has worked 100% of the time for me. If this still does not work, then the problem may lie deeper, and perhaps need further investigation, as for some reason, your engine module does not want to keep the coding stored.

    ATB
    #5
  7. mramage
    Offline

    mramage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 29, 2013]
    Seems it is the cable. Don't trust the copies!!!!!! Stirling audi kindly activated it for free when car was in :)
    #6
  8. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,107
    Likes Received:
    1,181
    [Sep 29, 2013]
    Sorry for off topic but your avatar is awesome mramage
    #7
  9. mramage
    Offline

    mramage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 29, 2013]
    Cheers. It's McLaren F1 engine. I defected to BMW for a while and had an e46 M3. Apparently the F1 is 2x those engines as basis.
    #8

Share This Page