1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Enabling TPMS on a 59 Plate; How-To Addendum

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by pu6486, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. pu6486
    Offline

    pu6486 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    Background
    ----------

    Whilst there are very good pages that describe how to do this "mod" (see [1]), they relate specifically to older A3s and LHD models. My car is a 59 plate RHD model and the process differs everso slightly. For what it's worth this is the first "mod" that I've done to my car and is therefore probably way below the skill of most people here. However, the subtle differences relating to my car should be of interest to anyone wishing to carry this out. I only include these differences from [1] here.

    What You Need
    -------------

    As described in [1] you need a supply of wire, cable ties etc. as well as the specific components from Audi. For my car these specific parts were:

    Qty, Description Part No.* Price each (ex.vat)
    1 Wires 000979131 1.26
    2 Wire Set 000979009E 1.66
    1** Housing 4D0971636A 2.46
    1** Button 8P0927121B5PR 10.60
    1 Release Tool 8E0051530 5.96 (these are the keys to remove the radio)

    * I bought these from Portsmouth Audi. Whilst the guy was very helpful, especially in ensuring I had the correct switch he, curiously, wouldn't tell me the part numbers over the 'phone! Very cloak-and-dagger!

    ** These are specific to my 59 plate car - the shape of the switch is slightly different to older models.

    Different Layout
    ----------------

    Following the procedure in [1] is a little confusing unless you know your way around the car; everything's there just in slightly different places.

    1. The ABS module is behind the battery, Figure 1, red arrow. To get to it you'll need to take the battery cover off, disconnect it (10mm bolts), remove the battery (a 13mm bolt on the engine-side of the battery), remove the half of the plastic battery surround nearest the windscreen, Figure 2.

    [​IMG]
    Figure 1. Location of ABS Controller

    [​IMG]
    Figure 2. Battery Surround

    2. To remove the ABS module plug, Figures 3 and 4, the clip at the top needs to be withdrawn quite a way, Figure 5.

    [​IMG]
    Figure 3. ABS Controller

    [​IMG]
    Figure 4. ABS Controller

    [​IMG]
    Figure 5. ABS Release Clip

    3. The internal fuse box is by the side of the light switch ***.

    4. The access from inside the car to the engine bay is behind the glove-box and is tricky to get to ***. Figure 6 shows this wire. It comes out with the cable bundle behind the battery box, Figure 7.

    [​IMG]
    Figure 6. Wire Passing From Passenger's Footwell to Engine Bay

    [​IMG]
    Figure 7. Wire Passing Out of Cable Bundle Into Engine Bay

    *** to remove the glovebox and fascia underneath the steering wheel I followed the "footwell light retrofit' guide, [2].

    5. The button fascia is simply removed (after taking out the radio) by gently pulling forward at the top first then the bottom, Figure 8. Strangely the hazard-light button will come off with it too, Figure 9.

    [​IMG]
    Figure 8. Back view of Button Fascia

    [​IMG]
    Figure 9. Hazard and Button Fascia

    The ABS Controller
    ------------------

    According to VCDS my ABS controller is a mk60 that uses long coding:

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 03: ABS Brakes (-----) Labels: 1K0-907-379-60EC1F.clb
    Part No SW: 1K0 907 379 AD HW: 1K0 907 379 AD
    Component: ESP MK60EC1 H35 0106
    Revision: 00H35001
    Coding: 16426012092700FB680C06E8901D00823800
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000

    This is different from that described in [1] for two reasons: first, to enable TPMS was simply a checkbox on the VCDS menu (see [3]), second, and perhaps most importantly, the wire on the controller goes to PIN 35 ****NOT***** pin 27, as in [1], Figures 10 and 11.

    [​IMG]
    Figure 10 TPMS wire in Wrong Position in Controller Plug

    [​IMG]
    Figure 11. TPMS Wire in Correct Position - Pin 35

    Summary
    -------

    Compared the original article, [1], the differences are only slight. The most crucial one was the new pin location. Given your ABS controller number, and with help from those on this forum, you can easily determine the correct location. The rest is really a learning experience - if I got it to work anyone can.

    One last note, after the battery is reconnected and the engine started you'll get a number of "errors" in the DIS (ESP error, airbag error etc.). Don't worry as these should clear after the car is driven a few yards and then brought to a halt.

    Thanks :icon_thumright:
    ------

    The largest thanks goes to Paul, Gti Jazz Blue, without who this would not be working now. Also thanks to NHN for determining the correct pin location.

    References
    ----------

    [1] http://oooo-a3.blogspot.com/2006/04/tire-pressure-monitoring-system-tpms.html

    [2] http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showth...s-Enabled&highlight=retrtofit footwell lights

    [3] http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?95414-Enable-TPMS-on-a-59-plate-A3
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Harrelson
    Offline

    Harrelson Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    And TPMS will be enabled? So you don't need to buy sensors for the wheel?
    #2
  4. waring192
    Offline

    waring192 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    Great guide, PM sent!
    #3
  5. pu6486
    Offline

    pu6486 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2010]
    Update - it works!
    ---------------------

    Just a quick update to this thread. After performing the mod I assumed that the system worked as it "bleeped" as per [1] when the button was pressed. However, I did wonder if the system would actually work, or was my bad luck plaguing me further?!

    Every 5000 miles I swap the wheels from front to back (to even out wear). After I did this a mate (helpfully) reset the system. This was followed by around 150 miles, during which the system would have learnt the "new" rolling circumferences. When I filled up at the weekend I corrected the tyre pressures- front and back were out by roughly 6psi (back were too hard and front too soft). Straight after leaving the petrol station I was into my weekly commute. 6.6 miles later (roughly 20minutes), there was a loud "bleep" from the DIS and the TPMS light illumintated (see phot, it's by the "1" in the rev counter - apologies for quality; no idea how it was taken!?).

    [​IMG]

    I pulled over at the nearest service station (as by now I was on the motorway), turned the engine off, then back on and reset the system (it wouldn't let me reset until I'd done this). After 100 miles it didn't come back on, suggesting that it had been successfully reset and was learning the new values OK.

    So from this I've learnt a couple of things:
    1. The system takes a while to learn the values, presumably populating some look-up table for various speeds.
    2. After the tyre pressures change, it then takes a little while (in this case 6.6miles) for the system to realise there's been a change. I, wrongly, presumed this would be instantaneous, but in fact it must compare the rolling circumference at several speeds before deciding something is up.
    #4
  6. pu6486
    Offline

    pu6486 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2010]
    Harrelson, there are two types of TPMS system out there. The first is a Gucci one which tells you the exact pressure of each individual tyre. This requires fancy valves and sensors. Unsurprisingly it isn't cheap (hundreds of £ I think). The second one makes use of the already-present ABS sensors to measure the (correct) rolling circumference (you tell the computer, by pressing the button that the pressures are correct). This is stored in a lookup table and compared against current values. When there is a difference (in my case 6psi was enough) the system alarms.

    As far as I know, the A3 only uses this more simple system; which works!
    #5
  7. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [May 29, 2011]
    Hi guys,

    I'm looking to do this on my 2010 S3, but have read that MY10+ now have the option in the DIS and not a button on the dash? I've enabled TPMS using VCDS (on CAN, CE, and ABS module) but that does nothing apart from create errors in the autoscan (I thought that the option may appper in DIS).

    Can anyone advise?

    Thanks
    #6
  8. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [May 29, 2011]
    Also, my ABS module is:

    Address 03: ABS Brakes (J104) Labels: 1K0-907-379-60EC1F.clb
    Part No SW: 1K0 907 379 AJ HW: 1K0 907 379 AJ
    Component: ESP MK60EC1 H30 0107
    Revision: 00H30001
    Coding: 1642801209250000680E01E6901E0081390000
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 7AF0771E4CB7

    and my CE module is:

    Address 09: Cent. Elect. (J519) Labels: 8P0-907-063.clb
    Part No SW: 8P0 907 063 A HW: 8P0 907 063 A
    Component: BCM PQ35 M 105 0575
    Revision: 00105 AK
    Coding: 0E000A2FB005F0C0207041E00100095C437E2BAA306DD929E40008840040
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 32609F3ED447
    Part No SW: 8P2 955 119 F HW: 8P2 955 119 F
    Component: Wischer AU350 H10 0040
    Coding: 00DD13
    Part No SW: 8K0 910 557 HW: 8K0 955 559 A
    Component: REGENLICHTSEN H04 0003
    Coding: 024C2D
    Part No: 8P0 951 177
    Component: Innenraumuebe H04 0020
    Part No: 1K0 951 605 C
    Component: LIN BACKUP HO H05 1501
    Part No: 1K0 907 719 C
    Component: Neigungssenso 005 0003

    Thanks!
    #7
  9. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [May 29, 2011]
    Also, Engine and DSG module (I have Auto Hill Hold). Think I need this info to get correct PIN location?



    Address 01: Engine (CDL) Labels: 06F-907-115-CDL.clb
    Part No SW: 8P0 907 115 AP HW: 8P0 907 115 B
    Component: 2.0l R4/4V TFSI 0010
    Revision: 5BH19--- Serial number: AUX7Z0J1FNI0FY
    Coding: 0103000C1C0F0160
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 800485F6AA6B
    No fault code found.
    Readiness: 0110 0101
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 02: Auto Trans Labels: 02E-300-0xx.lbl
    Part No SW: 02E 300 012 N HW: 02E 927 770 AL
    Component: GSG DSG AG6 511 2115
    Revision: 51112 Serial number: 00001002121472
    Coding: 0000020
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 1B3E529AA3CD
    #8
  10. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [May 30, 2011]
    Anyone? Looking to do this mod this week if poss :)
    #9
  11. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jun 4, 2011]
    Right guys. I've found out that my S3 was made in 03/2010, so March. So I'm pretty sure it needs a button on the dash. Can anyone confirm?


    Also, below is a pic of my dash. Can anyone tell me which button I need to replace for the TPMS? Part numbers would be great!

    [​IMG]

    Cheers guys!!
    [​IMG]
    #10
  12. Adam.
    Offline

    Adam. Meow.

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 4, 2011]
    #11
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 4, 2011]
    Thats of no help tbh as thats for MMI of which the 8P doesnt have.

    Problem is elsawin shows even the newer cars having a tpms button, even though they clearly dont as its all in the DIS, but as yours is a MY10 car, then it will have a button in the dash.

    Do you want the bad news?

    You cant buy the button on its own anymore from MY10 onwards, its a whole switch pack in a row because the MY09 switches were so badly aligned & well tbh ****, they wanted to keep them all straight & level, hence now they're fixed & only changeable by buying the whole unit.

    PM me as I can probably get new one for you, its a minefield though as they're are about 20-40 of the buggers, so choosing the correct one can be costly as they're all back order in germany, no uk stock, so if its ordered you have to keep it, no returns at all to audi, I've also got to do this.
    #12
  14. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jun 5, 2011]
    OK, cheers mate. PM on its way....
    #13
  15. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jun 5, 2011]
    #14

Share This Page