1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Enable trip computer with DIS in place and original parking sensors

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by netr, Oct 10, 2013.

  1. netr
    Offline

    netr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2013]
    Hi everyone,

    I recently purchased an Audi A4 B7 convertible 2.0TDI (manufactured in March 2006). Anyways, I have two questions.

    1. I bought a car with DIS already in place (I have the wiper stalk with reset button and up/down button). I also have the drivers menu and can display mileage, average consumption etc. But this data is updated to fast for my terms (previously I owned an Audi A3 with two trip computers, one for daytime measurements and one for overall). Can I enable the two trip computers in my car?

    2. I have rear parking sensors, but the tone they make makes me feel that this was retrofitted. Also I have a unit on the dash, that generates these sounds. Is it possible to put some additional original Audi parts into the car, so that the parking sensors will be original?

    Thank you for your answers!

    Best regards,
    Nejc
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Oct 10, 2013]
    yes you can.

    and yes again
    #2
  4. netr
    Offline

    netr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2013]
    Thanks for your quick reply...

    Maybe I should ask additionaly:
    For the first question, is it a matter of only coding it in? How? I saw many posts for coding from no DIS (no trip) to trip computer. But there are no posts for DIS to DIS+trip.

    For the second... What parts would I probably need? Can I identify if current sensors are original?
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 10, 2013]
    You can login to instruments 17 & adjust the trip settings in adaptation channel 19 usually.

    As Bez states, you can fit oem PDC yes.
    #4
    netr likes this.
  6. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Oct 10, 2013]
    for the second you would need all oem kit sensors and control unit wireing and codeing

    theres a sticker in your service book and boot of the car all the codes mean whats fitted to the car from factory
    you can use these to see if the rear pdc are oem VW Group Option Codes Decoder


    and for dis 2
    [17-Instruments]
    [Adaption-10]
    Channel 19

    the pick the codeing you need for dis 2
    #5
    netr likes this.
  7. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Oct 10, 2013]

    why havent you got a like and share button on your posts ?
    #6
  8. netr
    Offline

    netr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2013]
    Thanks to both of you!
    I checked the codes and clearly rear parking sensors were not factory fitted.
    #7

Share This Page