1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Emoticons

Discussion in 'Forum Support' started by Shadowman, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. Shadowman

    Shadowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi,

    Please can you let me know how to access Emoticons or Smilies when responding to messages in Forums.....I can't see what I need to do ?

    Thanks
     
  2. CHEZ

    CHEZ moderately amusing
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,821
    Likes Received:
    574
    erm!
    your being serious?
    click on the smiley face thing above the box your typing in!
    (was that a trick question?) :beerchug: :icon_thumright: oh and leave a space before inserting one! :hubbahubba: :racer: :greyrs4:
     
  3. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    If you press the little yellow smiling face in the task bar, it opens up a seperate window and displays yhem. Press the one you want :icon_thumright: and it will appear on you thread. Hope that helps you.

    Sandra. :)
     
  4. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,464
    If you're accessing them on iPad get ready to struggle!
     
  5. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    This is true Warren, i have this also. :)
     
  6. Shadowman

    Shadowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    I know yhis is sounding really dumb.....but when I either create a new post or reply to one, I dont have a smiley face to click on either where I am typing or in the taskbar !!

    I can put an icon on the thread title, and Smilies are enabled on my profile, but there just isnt anything for me to click ???

    Is it because I use 'Quick Reply' perhaps ?
     
  7. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    Pressing the quick reply shouldnt make a difference. Are you on a pc or mobile device? Any chance you could post up a screenshot? :)

     
  8. CHEZ

    CHEZ moderately amusing
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,821
    Likes Received:
    574
    so do you not have no boxes at all above what you are typing with font, size, etc?
     
  9. Shadowman

    Shadowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Nope....nothing except the box to type in for a 'quick reply' , and if I go into 'Advanced' , I get the title bar as well but nothing else ( no fonts, smilies.......nothing !!
     
  10. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    Im trying to replicate what you have. If you go to the bottom of the page at the right hand side there is an option to choose what skin your running. Asn fixed temp, asn fluid new or Asn mobile forum. Which are you using? :)
     
  11. Shadowman

    Shadowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    ASN Fixed Temp
     
  12. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    Sorry, what do you have when you use reply or reply with quote? And which browser are you runnng?
     
  13. Shadowman

    Shadowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    With 'Reply', I just get the box to type in and with 'Reply With Quote', I get the same but with the quote from the previous message shown.

    I am using Explorer.
     
  14. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    Ok thanks. I will try work out whats up. :)
     
  15. Shadowman

    Shadowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Thanks v.much Sandra......obviously it's not crucial, but it would be good to have it if possible. ( I would put a Smilie on here, but I can't...:))...:)
     
  16. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    No problem and a smile can be a colon : and then a ) like when your on your mobile phone.
     
  17. Shadowman

    Shadowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Sorted !! :rockwoot:

    I had to change my settings from the Standard default setting to the full WYSIWYG, and now I have everything....Thanks...:beerchug:
     
  18. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,617
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    Thanks for letting us know. Glad you got it fixed. :beerchug:. :)
     
  19. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,987
    Likes Received:
    1,381
    TBH mate, they struggle using any incantation lol.
     

Share This Page