1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Emoticons

Discussion in 'Forum Support' started by Shadowman, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi,

    Please can you let me know how to access Emoticons or Smilies when responding to messages in Forums.....I can't see what I need to do ?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. CHEZ
    Online

    CHEZ moderately amusing

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    531
    erm!
    your being serious?
    click on the smiley face thing above the box your typing in!
    (was that a trick question?) :beerchug: :icon_thumright: oh and leave a space before inserting one! :hubbahubba: :racer: :greyrs4:
    #2
  3. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    If you press the little yellow smiling face in the task bar, it opens up a seperate window and displays yhem. Press the one you want :icon_thumright: and it will appear on you thread. Hope that helps you.

    Sandra. :)
    #3
  4. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    If you're accessing them on iPad get ready to struggle!
    #4
  5. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    This is true Warren, i have this also. :)
    #5
  6. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    I know yhis is sounding really dumb.....but when I either create a new post or reply to one, I dont have a smiley face to click on either where I am typing or in the taskbar !!

    I can put an icon on the thread title, and Smilies are enabled on my profile, but there just isnt anything for me to click ???

    Is it because I use 'Quick Reply' perhaps ?
    #6
  7. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    Pressing the quick reply shouldnt make a difference. Are you on a pc or mobile device? Any chance you could post up a screenshot? :)

    #7
  8. CHEZ
    Online

    CHEZ moderately amusing

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    531
    so do you not have no boxes at all above what you are typing with font, size, etc?
    #8
  9. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Nope....nothing except the box to type in for a 'quick reply' , and if I go into 'Advanced' , I get the title bar as well but nothing else ( no fonts, smilies.......nothing !!
    #9
  10. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    Im trying to replicate what you have. If you go to the bottom of the page at the right hand side there is an option to choose what skin your running. Asn fixed temp, asn fluid new or Asn mobile forum. Which are you using? :)
    #10
  11. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    ASN Fixed Temp
    #11
  12. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    Sorry, what do you have when you use reply or reply with quote? And which browser are you runnng?
    #12
  13. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    With 'Reply', I just get the box to type in and with 'Reply With Quote', I get the same but with the quote from the previous message shown.

    I am using Explorer.
    #13
  14. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    Ok thanks. I will try work out whats up. :)
    #14
  15. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Thanks v.much Sandra......obviously it's not crucial, but it would be good to have it if possible. ( I would put a Smilie on here, but I can't...:))...:)
    #15
  16. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    No problem and a smile can be a colon : and then a ) like when your on your mobile phone.
    #16
  17. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Sorted !! :rockwoot:

    I had to change my settings from the Standard default setting to the full WYSIWYG, and now I have everything....Thanks...:beerchug:
    #17
  18. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    2,274
    Thanks for letting us know. Glad you got it fixed. :beerchug:. :)
    #18
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    TBH mate, they struggle using any incantation lol.
    #19

Share This Page