1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Emergency Brake Flash

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Silky-S3, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. Silky-S3

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    318
    Hi guys,

    Been playing round with vagcom lately and I’ve noticed the emergency brake flash option (In Central Electrics if I remember correctly) which I’ve now enabled. I think this is meant to flash the hazard warning lights when doing an emergency stop. I’ve been out to try and done some full-on braking action (from up to 110mph!) and nothing seems to flash!?

    Has anyone got this working, or have any info on it? Doing a search on the net finds a few posts on VAGOC.com (from MarcQ) and a few on a US forum talking about the 3rd (High level) brake light flashing and not the hazards?

    Anyone? As I think this would be a useful feature on motorways etc.

    Thanks
    Matt
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. A3-sport

    A3-sport BOSE

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    seen a volvo with this on when he nearly ran into someone. quite good really.
     
  4. Lee_R

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm not sure but someone on Ebay is selling flasher units for your 3rd brake light, looking at MY10 specs, its fitted as standard on them.
     
  5. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    246
    MarcQuinlivan off the site has this enabled - send him a pm!
     
  6. Igdos

    Igdos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    Pretty thoroughly tested! :ohmy:

    I think it is linked to Emergency Brake Assist - only when this is activated, so may have less to do with braking at speed but the intensity of braking (ie at slower speeds the braking force when brakes are applied suddenly in emergency stop will be applied more strongly than at higher speeds where car could go out of control with Brake Assist)
     
  7. Dandle

    Dandle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    1
    If its the same as the BMW setup it will only start to flash when the ABS is activated.
     
  8. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    As stated, the hazzards flash when you hit the brakes hard enough to activate brake assist. You'd be surprised how hard you have to hit the pedal to make it work. Don't press the pedal, stamp on it! Just make sure no one is behind you!
     
  9. drsilviuro

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    I also have done that (stamp on it) but nothing... Still searching...
     
  10. Silky-S3

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    318
    Right, i've just been out again and proper stamped on it! Like with all my weight behind it and still nothing! I can feel the ABS ans Brake Assit working but no flashing lights. Well I cant see them flashing on the dash or hazard button.

    I've done slow stops, fast stops, coming to a halt stops and nothing!

    Any advice then?

    Thanks
    Matt
     
  11. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    I asked this a while ago and I think it was Mitch that told me it wasn't just about breaking hard, it measured the time between coming off the accelerator and then how hard to hit the brakes. So if you're cruising along using some throttle and then carry out an emergency stop then it comes on.

    I tried the same method as you but never went back out to test the above.

    Where does this plug in and how does it work etc etc?
     

Share This Page