1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU Upgrade options

Broken Byzan Apr 23, 2009

  1. Lee Goodall

    Lee Goodall Active Member

    2,279
    4
    38
    I see.. makes sense.

    So the main criteria for an easy swap to a flashable ECU so far is:-

    A 1998 onwards loom

    Immo1

    ME3.83 ECU from an AGU engine (DBC but still flashable)
     
  2. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    13,237
    466
    83
    Borrowed from else where. So it appears we have bench flashable ECUs

     
  3. Lee Goodall

    Lee Goodall Active Member

    2,279
    4
    38
    That's not really a problem though is it?.. only takes a minute or so to whip the ECU out.

    Was that from Bill at Badger 5?
     
  4. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    13,237
    466
    83
    Yeah , on the A3 8L section.

    I have also been enquiring on Chiptuning, and its backed up there to a point. That with the right equipment you can write to them, but some difficulty in reading from them. Also the immo defeat can be done for a charge too, i have been offered it at a cost of 50 euros but i need to aquire a $50 chip reader to read the chip so the flash can be overlayed. So maybe not a bargain as first thought. If the Tuner can do it all in then no problems, any news fron Custard code?
     
  5. Lee Goodall

    Lee Goodall Active Member

    2,279
    4
    38
    Nothing from Custom code which is annoying. I've sent a reminder through ASN to them too now but still no response.

    I'll probably try Jabba and enquire about both cars (mine and yours) but state exactly what we'll be doing.. part no's and setups etc to see what they suggest.

    If it's not really going to be much easier than soldering a new chip in then I'll probably just go with that for the T28 but make sure it's how I want it before settling on a final map.
     
  6. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    13,237
    466
    83
    I was just looking forward to having a workable ECU kicking around for testing and diagnostic purposes. I am sure If GAIC can flash them, the big players can too
     
  7. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,600
    870
    113
    Lee: if you solder a socket onto the ECU and use a rewritable EEPROM then your just as well using a AEB/AJL ECU than the A3 one if you have to flash it on the bench.

    What you need to find is a firm that has an EEPROM emulator that they can fit into the EEPROM socket to allow them to (almost) live map it. That way you can alter the map almost on the fly, rather than pulling the ecu everytime to flash it with some changes any trying it each time.

    Mark: why dont you ask on chiptuners whats required to do EEPROM emulation on the original M3.8.2 A4 ECU?
     
  8. Lee Goodall

    Lee Goodall Active Member

    2,279
    4
    38
    I'll see what the tuners have to offer then.
     
  9. R-Tech-Nick

    R-Tech-Nick Active Member

    150
    51
    28
    Hello m8,

    With your map it will be a one off map..:cool: wrote in front of your eyes, and you can even have a say on mapping as we are doing it.

    In theory you can just use vagcom and vagtacho to get the 018CJ up and running, I have a guy in Wales who can lend you a hand when it come to coding the ecu and immo he has both tools to do the job, It can easy be patched as an open immo by taking the E2 (serial eeprom) off and changing a few of the hex values, the best way to do it is with the immo inplace, best safe then sorry imo.

    Nick
     
  10. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    13,237
    466
    83
    Thanks, i think its locked to the old car somehow as i can adapt it to the dash and it all looks good but still kicks in the immo I have vagcom/Tacho.

    I have had it running.I had to "mod" the immo to allow it for testing but am looking forward to maybe making the fix more permenant.

    I can drive to meet your guy if necc if you think it will help so we have some base adaptions stored prior to mapping
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  11. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    13,237
    466
    83
    I have stuck this here to leave a more complete post with info contained within

    Have done some more searching on immo problems, so i opened my 018CJ ECU to locate the 24c02 immo chip.
    [​IMG]

    Searched around and found for a sensible amount of cash you can aquire the equipment to clone them yourself.

    Using some quite basic tools,
    Programmer
    View attachment 1127

    25 blank chips for testing...
    View attachment 1129
    Adapters to allow the SMD chips to fit the DIP progger.

    View attachment 1128
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2010
  12. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    13,237
    466
    83
    Well a busy but non productive day was had today.

    My flashing stuff isn't here yet so i talked my friend into helping me,lol

    A friend of mine removed my DA ecu 24c02 chip and read the contained info, stuck the dump onto the 24c02 chip in the CJ ecu( after reading and saving the dump).

    The dash is happy with it, vagcom will comunicate and the workshop code and softcode that were on the DA ecu also copied over, so i assume thats what is written to when recoding.

    The odd thing is the CJ ECU wouldnt recode before, despite using the login 01283.

    Now to the bottom line, currently the CJ ECU still kicks in and cuts the car out and throws the immo blocked start code.

    Next step is to compare eep files...
     
  13. jaymodunn

    jaymodunn Member

    123
    2
    18
    HOLY THREAD etc

    but i have a 1.8t quattro sport avj a4 can i buy this

    AUDI A31.8 TURBO ENGINE Skoda Octavia 1.8T Engine ECU 06A 906 018 CJ 0261206516

    can i buy it to get immo off via vagcom or do i need someone else to do it.
     
  14. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    3,985
    261
    83
    You need vagtacho to pull the skc code then code with vagcom.
     
  15. jaymodunn

    jaymodunn Member

    123
    2
    18
    is there a service that does this, i am happy with immo off. and then will allow more tuning options. thanks
     
  16. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    3,985
    261
    83
    Audi@3 on here does iirc !!
     
  17. jaymodunn

    jaymodunn Member

    123
    2
    18
    is the ecu the right one for my car?
     
  18. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    3,985
    261
    83
    Yes.
     
  19. OGC

    OGC New Member

    10
    0
    1
    So this means the ecu pinouts on aeb and agu ecu's are identical and lead to the same sesnors?
     
  20. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,600
    870
    113
    Yes, they're a straight swap, and well proven over the years.

    I've had an AGU ECU running my 1.8T track car for a while.
     
  21. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    13,237
    466
    83
    Isnt an AVJ a B6 engine? therefore ME7 ?
     

Share This Page