1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU swapping?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by JayB5UK, May 12, 2006.

  1. JayB5UK
    Offline

    JayB5UK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2006]
    Hi, my car was re-mapped when I bought it, but the guy also gave me a spare ECU for it.
    Can they be swapped in and out without any hassle with keys / alarm etc?
    Just thinking for when the car is serviced etc or for when I sell it.

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. madkebab
    Offline

    madkebab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2006]
    Yes this can be done but you will need to use VAG-COM or similar to inform the immobiliser of the new ECU. I wouldnt bother doing it for a service as they are unlikely to detect a remap.
    #2
  3. JayB5UK
    Offline

    JayB5UK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2006]
    No but if it was easy i'd insure against "test drives" and having my car ragged by a greasy mechanic!
    #3
  4. madkebab
    Offline

    madkebab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2006]
    Jay - With VAG-COM it is easy. I have carried it out myself when my immobiliser was playing up.

    With regards to 'test drives' I think these are impossible to avoid unless you do your servicing yourself!!
    #4
  5. imported_billybravo
    Online

    imported_billybravo Guest

    [May 15, 2006]
    can the immobiliser be turned off? i have Vag-Com
    #5

Share This Page