1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ecu swap

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jbh, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
    right im possibly getting another A4 TDi 110 avant on a p reg now my cars an n reg so is it possible to swap over the ECU's? im thinking that the clocks aren't coded so in theory can I swap the ECU's and the the chips in the keys over? is it as straight forward as this or is it more involved?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    469
    Yeh i think you'd need to log into the immo with VCDS and tell it theres a new ECU, but its pretty easy on the older cars.

    You'll need to check they both use the same ECU though, as they changed them a few times over the years. N and P should hopefully be similar though.
     
    jbh likes this.
  4. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
    yea spoke to Adams24 about it hes told me what to look for.
    my N reg has the map sensor built into the ecu so when I pick the new bus up today ( the P reg ) ill get a look at the boost pipe and see if theres a map sensor there or not.
     
  5. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
    while were on the subject of swapping stuff over.. are front fog lights plug and play? or do I need to swap relays or anything?
     
  6. adamss24

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    231
    You will need a new front bumper fitted with fogs, 2x side trims/plastic bumper guides... I have a complete fromt bumper if you need in good nick- of course it will need painting in your own color. Do you have the fog lights built into the headlights ? They are there if the lights are made by Bosch...
     
  7. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
    what color of front bumper have you got Chris? ive got the facelift front bumper with fogs on the N reg so was wondering if I could have swapped the fogs onto the potential purchase
     
  8. craigynett

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
  9. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
  10. adamss24

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    231
    No need for SKC when adapting new ECU to the car, the SKC is needed ONLY if you swap the instruments in the cars with Immo2 or immo3. Your early a4 might even be a Immo1 which means the immobilizer is in a separate box...
     
    jbh likes this.
  11. craigynett

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes it is. If you haven't got it then get someone to extract it from the dash or ecu. Can be done with vagtacho or other key programming equipment
     
  12. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
    believe it or not... ive got it on the quattro.. 2 remote keys 1 service key. the plastic key and tag. was pretty amused by all that
     
  13. craigynett

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
    Click on the Ross-tech link I posted above. It says you have to login to immobiliser or instruments to adapt new ecu
     
  14. adamss24

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trust me, you don't need SKC for adapting ECU on immo 1 or 2 in the 1.9Tdi ! Americans never had the b5 with the 1.9 tdi engine so they don't really know how it works, just do as on the link on ross tech page and it works first time, every time ! Go to instruments, adaptation ch 00, read and save, then switch ignition off and wait for a minute. Repeat if necessary and also do exactly the same in the engine's ECU, adaptation, ch 00 read and save. Clear fault codes and you might have to cycle ignition on and off a few times. You know when adaptation is successful when the Immo light goes off when you turn ignition on without starting the engine ! I have been working on vag cars for a long time, there's little i don't know about them...
     
    #13 adamss24, Jan 8, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2014
    jbh likes this.
  15. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
    youre correct Chris both of them are Immo1
    I forgot to have a look at the boost pipe to see if it had the MAP sensor.
    I will check this in a bit and update you.
     
  16. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    133
    Hi Chris. after a look under the bonnet both look the same. both have the early maf plug and no MAP sensor on the boost pipe.
    so do you reckon I should be good to use my mapped ecu in the new car?
     

Share This Page