1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU reset??

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by AudiiduA, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. AudiiduA

    AudiiduA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all, im now running my3.2 on shell V Power 99,will the ECU learn new fuel or do i have to disconnect battery???
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. wickyianr1

    wickyianr1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    just put it in and away you go my freind the ecu is a clever bit of kit its thinking all the time driving styles and what not.
     
  4. Ads

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    582
    It will eventually "learn" enough to start benefiting from the v-power, but probably after a couple of tanks of fuel. To speed up the process do an ECU reset / battery disconnect.
    I try to do one every once in a while anyway to freshen things up, and help my car "forget" all of the slow traffic jam driving that I do.
     
  5. AudiiduA

    AudiiduA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    1
    What do you mean forget? Delete?? and being stuck in traffic alot..what effect on how the car drives does this have??
     
  6. marknjayne

    marknjayne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    16
    ecu's learn and adapt to your driving style and other things such as fuel type and ambient air temp etc,it adjusts the cells (timing and fuelling) to suit and fine tunes within its parameters,if you change something such as fuel type the car will instantly start to make adjustments but will not fully achieve its "optimum" for about 50-80 miles of driving ,if you potter around under 4k revs it will never fully adjust to suit,also the ecu uses sensors such as lambda and MAF to make these changes,once you use over 3/4 throttle the ecu switches to closed loop and uses the map rather than the sensors (or still relies on them but not as much)so a remap would make the most out of the change of fuel and any other additions/modifications made ,its all about the ecu finding the optimum performance and economy while making sure there is no det or anything similar within the engine
     
  7. Hendo

    Hendo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do Audi's not have a KAM fuse? In my Focus ST I use to pull the KAM fuse every few months and that would totally transform the car. Wrecked the fuel economy but made the daily drive more exciting.
     
  8. RGS3

    RGS3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also, doing a clear DTC's with VagCom will apparently clear the adaptations, even if there are no error codes. I can vouch for there being a fresher feel to the car after doing this, I used to disconnect the battery too on previous S3.
     
  9. andywaddy

    andywaddy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    5
    A bit of a dumb question but how long would you leave the battery disconnected for or is it just simple a quick disconnect - reconnect job?
     
  10. marknjayne

    marknjayne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    16
    disconnect, pump the brakes a few times to get the residual out and leave for about 20 mins then re-connect
     
    andywaddy likes this.
  11. marknjayne

    marknjayne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    16
    to be honest though just run tesco99 or v-power all the time anyway,i do but mine is mapped,its actually better for your wallet too as the higher the octane the more advance the ecu can run the ignition timing so you will get better mpg
     

Share This Page