1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ecu remap/box a3 tdi 2.0 140

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by aterro, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. aterro

    aterro S3 YO

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello
    i have audi a3 tdi 2.0 140
    it has 95k
    standard turbo,standard clutch

    im wanting a remap or one the st3 box/alientech

    ive found a st3 box for 305 delivered.
    or should i go for the remap eg from revo/amd?
    which seems better?
    pros and cons of both?

    Has anyone had any problems with there 170/180 remaps eg clutch giving in and turbo?


    thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Iain 750

    Iain 750 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am in the market for remap and have found a place near me in the north east that will remap for £225 and they came highly recommended.They say around 30 hp increase and up to 6 mpg on a run.Havnt really heard much about the box's so couldnt comment on them.
     
  4. heeman10

    heeman10 Audi driver since Dec 08

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an ST3 box which I bought second hand for £100. Economy and Power maps cost me £150 from ChippedUK. I had quite a bit of DMF chatter, so asked for them to tweak the map a little to bring torque down until a little after 2,000rpm. I've had a lightweight/stripped out fast road car with paddle clutch etc, so didn't really fancy having to drive around aspects of the engine's power delivery that spoilt the car's comfort and everyday road car behaviour. The revised maps came through the following morning (I requested my modifications late in the afternoon), and it's great now. As with most, I used the Economy map for about an hour, and have been on the Power map ever since. Economy is still good, and better than before on long runs when driven in the same way as it was before the remap. My advice, just buy the Power map if you decide to go down this route! No clutch slip for me yet, and I'm nudging 80,000.
     
  5. aterro

    aterro S3 YO

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    did u notice any problems with the generic maps?
    how do you fit the St3?

    thanks
     
  6. devonmikeyboy

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    8
    The ST3/alientech box holds three maps. To switch maps you just plug it into the cars OBD port and press a button. I have an alientech box which hasn`t been locked to any tuning company so can up load and store anybodies maps on to my car. You can buy remaps and custom maps for half the price from proper real remap companies in Europe compared to the high prices you get screwed in England for. The remaps get emailed to you which you just up load on to the Aliench box then transfer to your car.

    Alientech Tuning Tools: Powergate

    http://www.alientech-to.it/index.php...id=6&Itemid=13

    | Mobile Ecu Remaping
     
  7. aterro

    aterro S3 YO

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    Where sell a not locked to there company? St3/ alientech box?? F&r tuning sell for 305 but locked to them!
     
  8. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,167
    Likes Received:
    698
  9. heeman10

    heeman10 Audi driver since Dec 08

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only the DMF issue, which a number of cars suffer from in standard tune, and a large proportion of remapped cars are made aware of the DMF problem (sub 2,000rpm) because of the increased torque available low down. I found that once my torque was backed off with the modified maps, the issue was massively improved and I have to make a conscious effort to use large amounts of throttle at low engine speed to re-create the problem.

    The remap on mine is great, from ChippedUK. Far smoother than the standard map. I suspect a little more boost pressure and fuel are requested from the turbo at 0% throttle, since the turbo is working a little at idle, and this in turn means that upshifts AND downshifts have been made smoother during normal driving. The car is far more fun to drive now, I couldn't really have asked for any more :)
     
  10. navnayyar

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know a few people using fr-rtuning tuning box with good results.
     
  11. devonmikeyboy

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    8
    You want a Powergate S from HERE
     
  12. ~RS~

    ~RS~ Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi Heeman10,

    how is DMF chatter described to a layman. I have the same engine and maps from chippedUK so wanted to know what to look out for. I'm running DSG is yours manual?
     
  13. heeman10

    heeman10 Audi driver since Dec 08

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    In most cases it occurs when a large proportion of the engine's torque is applied below about 2,200rpm. It's not particularly healthy loading an engine up much below 2,000rpm anyway, but since a remapped engine can produce a significant amount of extra torque even at low engine speeds, it need not even take 75% throttle application for your remapped engine to be making more torque than it was with 100% throttle before your remap. The result can be chatter from the DMF flywheel.

    It will only happen when your foot is quite hard down, below 2,200rpm or so, and will cause a fairly noticeable vibration. It will stop if you reduce torque enough to give the flywheel a break. If you cause a chatter situation to develop, then it may continue on past 2,200rpm even with a lighter throttle application, due to the nature of the problem, so you might need to lift off altogether for it to settle. It can feel like a buckled wheel, as the car will vibrate, and you'll feel it through the steering wheel, perhaps around 10Hz at a guess.
     
  14. garag

    garag New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm interested in a fr&r tuning st3 box but i'm not sure how can i do to get my original ecu data, ¿asking my chiptuner?

    -garag
     
  15. navnayyar

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you mean? You plug it in the diagnostics port and it reads your ecu software. You then load to your pc with usb cable and email attachment
     
  16. devonmikeyboy

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    8
    fr+r st3 box is just a rebranded Alientech box. For information on the box read the links in post 5
     
  17. garag

    garag New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now the car is stage1 tunned...it isn't an original ecu data from a 2.0TDi140hp, Must I get the original software from my chiptuner?
     
    #16 garag, Nov 29, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  18. rosed4179

    rosed4179 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    TDI-tuning.co.uk do a box for £120.
    Site looks professional, is it worth or pop or is it too good to be true.
    I dont honestly know what im looking for if im honest so any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  19. navnayyar

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    waste of money mate, thats not the kind of tuning box being talked about in this thread. get a remap or a branded alientech box which is commonly called self tuning box
     
  20. aterro

    aterro S3 YO

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    STill after one of these.

    Opinions on what I should do

    Get a unlocked powergate s n buy maps from somewhere?( how many maps can the gate s store? More than one for other cars?

    Or buy a st3,alientech with locked tech and 3 maps?
     
  21. andi1

    andi1 WWW.APR-REMAPS.CO.UK

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    aterro if your wanting a power gate we can supply them mailorder discounted for £295 and with the files for you vehicle,


    Or if you wanted a remap on the actual vehicle in situ we could come out to you at leicester and carry one out for discounted club rate £200 (Normal rate is £245)



    [​IMG]
     
    #20 andi1, Aug 10, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. ern

    ern Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    4
    Can someone just clarify these boxes hold 3 dedicated maps you can apply yourself to your car? As in power for a sunday drive then economy for a long journey and keep your standard map stored? If your having torque problems is there any interface for your computer you can use to reduce the loading at low revs?
     
  24. aterro

    aterro S3 YO

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    They unlocked?? Who you work for?? Cheers
     
  25. andi1

    andi1 WWW.APR-REMAPS.CO.UK

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes but they will need to be plugged into a laptop
     
  26. andi1

    andi1 WWW.APR-REMAPS.CO.UK

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
  27. aterro

    aterro S3 YO

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    How can I place a order dude?

    Cheers
     
  28. andi1

    andi1 WWW.APR-REMAPS.CO.UK

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi give me a bell tomorow lunchtime m8 0844 812 0036

    thanks
     

Share This Page