1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU Re-setting After New Maf!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Dani_B19, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,556
    Likes Received:
    117
    Afternoon boys and girls.
    Just want to know how do you re-set the ecu if you havent got vag com? Also do you have to re-set the ecu after fitting a new maf?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,097
    Likes Received:
    424
    No need to reset, once the faulty part has been swapped, the ECU will re adapt itself within a few hunndred miles as to your driving style and keep the emisions all in check too

    Pulling the battery can reset the learnt values, but make sure you have the radio code forst
     
  4. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group S-line Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,893
    Likes Received:
    2,825
    You can reset the DBW throttle to see if it make a difference. Insert ignition key and turn to on so the dash lights up, but don't crank the car. Step on the throttle fully for 5 secs then release fully for 5 secs, now fire up the car, and the throttle will feel different to drive, in most cases, it will feel shraper, until it adapts to your driving style.
     
  5. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,556
    Likes Received:
    117
    Do you mean reset the throttle body?
     
  6. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,556
    Likes Received:
    117
    Cheers mate, i thought the car would adjust its slef but afew people in the past have mentioned about re-setting the ecu which i couldnt understand why.
     
  7. nickrex

    nickrex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I fitted my new MAF the car felt awful to drive and very juddery (Even worse than it was before). As I fitted it outside GSF I had to get home so I just unplugged it and carried on. When I got home I reset the fault code with vagcom and the car was perfect. I know what some people are saying when they say the car adjusts itself as my old golf anniversary seemed to sort itself out before I had vagcom. It seems some do and some dont.
     
  8. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,556
    Likes Received:
    117
    What so when you fitted the new maf it throw a fault code up?
     
  9. nickrex

    nickrex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    No not a new one, the ecu light just stayed on until it was reset. Only then did it drive how it should. I remember with my old Golf anniversary, the light went out after plugging in the new maf, turning off the ignition and restarting it. I didn't have vagcom in those days but it obviously didn't need it. Dont know why the Audi should be any different but it is (Well mine is anyway).
     
  10. CMcKenzie

    CMcKenzie It's supposed to do that..

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    123
    Sorry for the prehistoric thread revival, but it saves making a new one.

    My new genuine Bosch MAF has just turned up from ECP and my cheapo VCDS lead won't be here until tomorrow.
    My question is, do I definately need to reset the ECU, or just disconnect the battery for half an hour or so, connect up the MAF and reconnect the battery? Or do I not need to bother disconnecting the battery at all? Or should I just wait until my lead comes and do it then?
    My apologies if this has been covered a thousand times already, I'm just after a definitive 'Yes' or 'No'.
    Thanks,
    -Callum.
     
  11. Gops

    Gops Badger 5 Edition
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    546
    Like mark said, it'll learn to adapt once you drive it along. Is your traction light on?
     
  12. CMcKenzie

    CMcKenzie It's supposed to do that..

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    123
    Yeah, my Traction light is on, no other lights though.
    Will the Traction light go off as soon as it's swapped over and started back up?
    I just wanted someone to come and confirm what was said before I go and do something stupid.
    Cheers Gops.
    -Callum
     
  13. 16Klappe

    16Klappe I <3 Panda's!
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,796
    Likes Received:
    1,176
    Should do.

    The code will be stored, but the ESP light should go.
     
  14. CMcKenzie

    CMcKenzie It's supposed to do that..

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    123
    Thanks gents.
    I'll go get cracking on with it.
    -Callum.
     
  15. CMcKenzie

    CMcKenzie It's supposed to do that..

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    123
    Just been and done it, ESP light is off and running sweet. Thanks again fellas
    -Callum
     

Share This Page