1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU Chips on eBay

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Nick101, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. Nick101

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    15
    Anyone seen these available for the AEB/AJL engine?

    I can't put a link up as I am on my phone. They are £60, sounds good but I am abit dubious about generic chips from an unknown source.

    What are people's views on these?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    Get to a proper tuner like r-tech or unicorn and have it mapped live then you can find any little problems that might cause big problems in the long run off it being mapped !!
     
  4. Nick101

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    15
    That's what I was thinking to be honest. Was just intrigued to know if anyone had used these chips.

    How much would I be looking for someone like R-Tech to map it?
     
  5. Jason.s

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Think my map was £280ish. Shame my ECU wont fit yours i dont think as i have the chip already fitted and mapped sitting on my desk at work. Person on Ebay hasnt paid me still after 2 weeks!
     
  6. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,694
    Likes Received:
    476
    Why wont the ECU fit?

    Is yours a really early one with 5 plugs?
     
  7. Jason.s

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Just didnt think it`d be the right ECU for a newer model and being quattro?

    Part number is 8D0907558E
     
  8. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,694
    Likes Received:
    476
    Should work fine.

    TQS is a 558DA, same family of ECU.

    The only minor issue might be IMMO related as the ECU will be IMMO1 and the car will be IMMO 2 or 3, but worst case you can just kill the immo on the new ECU.
     
  9. Nick101

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    15
    What car is your ECU off mate? Who mapped it and how much are you after?

    Aragorn - would this cause problems if it was a slightly different ECU?
     
  10. Jason.s

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Will PM
     
  11. Nick101

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    15
    Aragorn - do you rekon Jason's ECU will work work with my car and not cause any problems/blow anything up?
     
  12. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,694
    Likes Received:
    476
    yeh it'll work fine.

    You might have to fight with the immo a bit, depending on the age of your car and the generation of immo in the ECU, but worst case you can just have it turned off.
     
  13. Nick101

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    15
    My car is the pre facelift '99, analogue clock in dash etc, so sounds more compatible. How hard is it to change/turn off immo?
     
  14. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,694
    Likes Received:
    476
    If its a pre-facelift it should just work, but there werent any pre-facelift TQS's....

    If its an early facelift TQS with analog clock it has IMMO2, which i believe should be compatible with the ECU from a '98.
     
  15. Nick101

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    15
    So the AEB ecu will have IMMO2 as well then? Tha is for the help, I'm a bit of a noob with ECUs!
     
  16. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,694
    Likes Received:
    476
    IMMO1 probably. I believe going forwards is fine, but backwards doesnt work.

    So an immo1 or 2 ECU should work in an IMMO3 car, but an IMMO 3 ECU wont work in an immo2/1 car

    IMMO1 and 2 are fairly similar. I know Mark had trouble with a Golf ECU on his early facelift TQS, but i suspect the golf ECU was IMMO3 in that instance.
     

Share This Page