1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECON & AUTO on together??

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by pazaz, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    When I put my climate control on the ECON light stays on too??

    If I hold the ECON button in the ECON light goes out. As soon as I release the button them ECON light comes back on.

    Is this right?

    cheers..
    #1
  2. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    Press auto, or a directional button
    #2
  3. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    When I press AUTO Nothing happens.

    When I press a directional button the AUTO light goes off and ECON light stays on.
    #3
  4. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,456
    Likes Received:
    445
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    ECON light being illuminated means the AC is off.

    The fact it wont turn off indicates your AC is broken.
    #4
  5. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    250
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    yeah it should turn off when you put it in auto and if you push the econ button get it looked at
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,959
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    Check your fuses as this can happen if one blows.
    #6
  7. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    On the facelift climate, ECON has become A/C

    So does this still mean that AUTO illuminated is A/C on?
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,959
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    Auto will illuminate when none of the directional air buttons are on iirc.
    #8
  9. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    Bugger!! Checked my fuses and they are all ok.

    Would this show up a a fault code if I took it to a garage to diagnose the part that needs replacing?
    #9
  10. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 24, 2011]
    spoke to a automotive air con specialist today who confirmed it might need re-gassing (£30) to sort this fault out.

    Any body know if this is sounds about right?
    #10
  11. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 24, 2011]
    spoke to a automotive air con specialist today who confirmed it might need re-gassing (£30) to sort this fault out.

    Any body know if this is sounds about right?
    #11
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,959
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    [Mar 24, 2011]
    £30 isnt bad at all for a regas.

    Have you had car scanned as yet?
    #12
  13. markie A3
    Offline

    markie A3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 24, 2011]
    Would vcds cover heating and cooling faults? Mine has no fault codes, yet won't cool the car, so does this mean it needs re gas or a leak sorting if any?
    #13
  14. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 25, 2011]
    If it does I will get it scanned first

    Is re gasin an easy process then?
    #14
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,959
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    Regas is easy with the right tools yes, depends on the fault tbh, but it can show some sensor/climate issue & as for does it need regassing, need to take to somewhere with kit & they can check if it needs doing.
    #15
  16. jfow
    Offline

    jfow Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    Yeh it just needs the Gas re-filling its unlikely it will be anything else.

    £30 is a great price, takes about an hour...
    #16

Share This Page