1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECON & AUTO on together??

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by pazaz, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. pazaz

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I put my climate control on the ECON light stays on too??

    If I hold the ECON button in the ECON light goes out. As soon as I release the button them ECON light comes back on.

    Is this right?

    cheers..
     
  2. Smoothie

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    Press auto, or a directional button
     
  3. pazaz

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I press AUTO Nothing happens.

    When I press a directional button the AUTO light goes off and ECON light stays on.
     
  4. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,531
    Likes Received:
    463
    ECON light being illuminated means the AC is off.

    The fact it wont turn off indicates your AC is broken.
     
  5. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    250
    yeah it should turn off when you put it in auto and if you push the econ button get it looked at
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,991
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Check your fuses as this can happen if one blows.
     
  7. Smoothie

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    On the facelift climate, ECON has become A/C

    So does this still mean that AUTO illuminated is A/C on?
     
  8. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,991
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Auto will illuminate when none of the directional air buttons are on iirc.
     
  9. pazaz

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bugger!! Checked my fuses and they are all ok.

    Would this show up a a fault code if I took it to a garage to diagnose the part that needs replacing?
     
  10. pazaz

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    spoke to a automotive air con specialist today who confirmed it might need re-gassing (£30) to sort this fault out.

    Any body know if this is sounds about right?
     
  11. pazaz

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    spoke to a automotive air con specialist today who confirmed it might need re-gassing (£30) to sort this fault out.

    Any body know if this is sounds about right?
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,991
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    £30 isnt bad at all for a regas.

    Have you had car scanned as yet?
     
  13. markie A3

    markie A3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Would vcds cover heating and cooling faults? Mine has no fault codes, yet won't cool the car, so does this mean it needs re gas or a leak sorting if any?
     
  14. pazaz

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    If it does I will get it scanned first

    Is re gasin an easy process then?
     
  15. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,991
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Regas is easy with the right tools yes, depends on the fault tbh, but it can show some sensor/climate issue & as for does it need regassing, need to take to somewhere with kit & they can check if it needs doing.
     
  16. jfow

    jfow Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh it just needs the Gas re-filling its unlikely it will be anything else.

    £30 is a great price, takes about an hour...
     

Share This Page