Ebony black, novice needs advice

JAM35F

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the serious detailing world, I used to think I knew how to clean a car but forums like this have shown I know nothing!

I need advice as to how to improve the finish on my a4 quattro sport (2000/w) in ebony black metalic. I've just bought the car and the previous owner was an audi service manager. Hence its regularly had a supagard treatment. Since owning it I've just added an autoglym gloss sealant and it does look great.

But having read more on forums and looked at polished bliss I'm wondering if it can look better. My main concerns are the odd little scratch, nothing major but be nice to get rid of some, and what I assume is tar/ road deposits along bottom of doors/ wheel arches. This you really can feel, it's rough and is visible on close inspection.

My idea is to do the following but I'd love advice as to what people think I should do. I can't justify the cost of a professional machine paint restoration process so all would have to be done by hand on my drive. I want a good finish and one that will last as although my car is washed once a week I only have time to wax etc every 6-8 weeks.

1. Clay bar using meguiars quik clay (never done clay bar before but have read that megs is a good starter one)

2. Blackfire gloss enhancing polish - will this take off all the wax/polish/supagard, is it too harsh? As the finish at the moment is impressive for an 8 year old car, is this one step back too far, should I skip this step and just go to three? How often would I have to do this polishing step? Everytime I do a major clean/ seal / wax?

3. Blackfire Wet Diamond All Finish Paint Protection- i read this now has a ploycharger, not exactly sure of the benefit but I had considered Carlack 68 Long life sealant but didnt like the idea of having to mix a polycharger h20 to it everytime. So is the blackfire good for me? write up on Polished Bliss seems good.