1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

eBay VagCom

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by sipod, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. sipod
    Offline

    sipod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    #1
  2. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    #2
  3. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    You need to buy a vag com lead from Nigel aka NHN, thats what you NEED to do.
    #3
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes, get one from NHN, I'm sure Ross Tech will be interesting in that listing too for legal matters.
    #4
  5. SAiLO
    Offline

    SAiLO Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    33
    The difference is you get technical support from Ross-Tech plus the warranty and updates to the software. Well worth it in my opinion and I'm sure others will agree.
    #5
  6. 964kevin
    Offline

    964kevin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7

    So for the ignorant amongst me, why won't that one work?

    thanks

    kevin
    #6
  7. sipod
    Offline

    sipod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK Thanks for the prompt reply's chaps , I guess it's down to legal issues instigated by copious amounts of research and 3rd party's trying to capitalise with cheap copy's !!
    #7
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    TBH, it probably will work but there is no guarantee for how long. It will most certainly stop working it you try to update to the latest software as the lead is an illegal clone.
    #8
  9. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    LOL

    Like this bit at the bottom of the listing

    *Please note that this cable only works with the software supplied which should never be updated.

    Cracked/hacked software hey! ABOUT AS LEGIT AS A £45 NOTE!
    #9
  10. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    What are you planning to do with it or is it just for error diagnosis? I have used mine for error, cruise control coding, parking sensor coding, multifunction steering wheel coding, RNS-E coding & coding/checking my new cluster before I get Audi to do the imobilizer. On those grounds its paid for itself already.
    #10
  11. sipod
    Offline

    sipod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to move off subject a little . Is RossTech system used by VAG main dealers ?
    #11
  12. sipod
    Offline

    sipod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I require one simply for the above , RNS-E coding etc.
    #12
  13. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    579
    Sorry, I don't agree with all this "buy genuine or don't bother" etc etc.
    I've used/owned both... china fake (although not from ebay) and ross-tech geniune. I've used both for many things, both work, both did what each other could do.
    My car is a 2004 so the fake worked. Not sure about newer A3's. But then if I buy a newer A3 and it doesn't work then it's only £20 spent, no biggie, not much more than a dominos pizza.

    I've had the odd occasion when the fake has stopped working, sometimes after an full autoscan, but a quick reboot and it's up and running again perfectly, allowing me to code/diagnose/etc.

    So yes it's fake, and yep it's ripped off from a software developer that has spent loads of dosh developing it, but then how many of us who say it is unfair to ross-tech then go on to happily download music/films/other software/etc.

    I would never have purchased a £200 ross-tech this time around, so by me buying a clone cable they haven't lost anything from me. If there was no clones then I wouldn't be a cable owner.
    That's my justification to myself anyway.

    So I would say it's down to the individual.... it's your money and your car, risk it or don't risk it. I did, and it does everything I wanted it to do, for 10% of the cost.

    I totally understand why people would want to buy geniune, but I think people should also be able to understand why people would buy fake... without coming down on them like a tone of bricks. (Not saying this has happened on this thread.... yet :happy:).
    #13
  14. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    No they use a system known as a VAS 5051/2 system. Looks a bit like this.

    [​IMG]
    #14
  15. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    Indeed it does, they don't even know how to use it!
    #15
  16. sipod
    Offline

    sipod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    So all other canbus cables including the said £200+ ones are also not the genuine article ? Not trying to stir any **** up here but I am very confused over who is selling the genuine article !!
    #16
  17. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    looks more like a dentists toys LOL
    #17
  18. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Look...Why dont you buy it and see ? you asked our opinion and you got it ! you buy genuine you will get a system that works and will continue to work. you buy under the counter you takes ya chances but you will get no updates and no tech backup. It might not even work at all..............but hey...you save a few quid so what the hell eh...lol
    #18
  19. Sarah's A3
    Offline

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    28
    Or dont buy any and see if anyone on here is close enough to maybe use theirs for you if its just for one thing! Either favour or for a pint!
    #19
  20. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Another night in ?
    #20
  21. Sarah's A3
    Offline

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    28
    yup! fraid so, you too??
    #21
  22. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yea....got in about an hour ago having done Dorking to Cromer and back...320 miles...sunk a bottle of Hardy's plonk and now bored :)
    #22
  23. Sarah's A3
    Offline

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    28
    lol, bored!!! trip sounds good, few miles there! Only 1 bottle??? lol
    #23

Share This Page