1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

easy task now turned into a right pain!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by limbo118118, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. limbo118118
    Offline

    limbo118118 LORD

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 26, 2010]
    i have just taken off my throttle body and cleaned it then plugged it all back in with no problems, and now after starting the car it now idles at around 1500rpm.... i dont have a clue why it is doing this because i was care full in the whole process so nothing will be broken... i have read up and kinda come to the decision that it needs resetting of some sort by vag-com so i need to find a garage that does it around north wales? any ideas would be of great help as it needs fixing in the next two days! i have now drove the car for two days with it idleing at 1500rpm so i dobt it will re-set its self which iv seen some people suggest....
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. AudiS3-Turbo
    Offline

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 26, 2010]
    have you tried disconnecting the battery for 10min then reconnecting,switch ignition on without starting for a min,it should self calibrate,other than that an air leak?
    #2
  4. limbo118118
    Offline

    limbo118118 LORD

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 26, 2010]
    nah i havn't tried that but i will do in the morning would that do the same as re-setting it by vagcom?
    #3
  5. AudiS3-Turbo
    Offline

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 26, 2010]
    the throttle should do it automatically,you can hear it hum when you turn on the key and yea disconnecting the battery for a while will rest most things,worth a try.
    #4
  6. limbo118118
    Offline

    limbo118118 LORD

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 26, 2010]
    yeh definatley, thanks for that you might just of saved me the best of £50
    #5
  7. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 26, 2010]
    Did you use a new gasket when you put the throttle body back on ? If not, could be the source of an air leak if you have one.
    #6
  8. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Oct 27, 2010]
    Air leak is a good possibility. And most likely.

    Secondly, if you have DBW throttle, you can reset the TB without VAG COM.

    IIRC, you can turn the ignition on, and put your foot flat to the floor for 5 seconds, this will invoke a TB reset.

    This DOES NOT work on Cable throttle (AGU) engines.
    #7

Share This Page