1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Sat Nav

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by RichC, May 11, 2008.

  1. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    As i have mentioned previously i am looking at having the DVD Sat Nav retro fitted to my new S3 when it arrives. The car has Symphony, BOSE and iPod connection so what i would like to clarify is am i right in thinking that the iPod connection will no longer work and will the BOSE be ok?

    If this is the case and the iPod connection wont work then i need to try and find a way of playing a large amount of MP3's through the RNS-E, im guessing the best/only option i will have initially is to use the SD slots?

    The other thing i would like to know is can you listen to the music on the SD cards whilst having the sat nav map on the screen?

    Thanks

    Rich
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    The Ipod connection will work fine with the RNS-E, what makes you think otherwise? Integration with BOSE is also no problem. Yes while the sat-nav map is on you can listen to any of the audio sources.
    #2
  4. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 11, 2008]
    :thumbsup:
    #3
  5. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    Thanks very much for the quick response. That is great if thats the case. The reason i thought otherwise is because when i had a look on the configurator at the iPod console it says not compatible with CD changer or CD-ROM satellite navigation so i just assumed it meant the option as a whole. Does it maybe mean that you cant use the iPod whilst the CD-ROM is actually in? I dont understand why this would be the case though seeing as they are surely 2 totally seperate sources?

    Rich
    #4
  6. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    You cant have the CD changer and the ipod option, its one or the other from Audi.

    If you want botht then you need a dension adapter instead of the Audi one.

    The RNS-E is DVD based not CD-ROM. You can use the ipod perfectly while the nav DVD is in the drive of the RNS-E.
    #5
  7. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    I have just realised the mistake i made, i totally forgot about the standard Sat Nav that they offer and that is what it isnt compatible with. Seeing as you have been a great help so far i dont suppose you know how the iPod tracks appear on the RNS-E do you? IIRC someone told me they came up as numbers (similar to when you explore the folders on a PC) instead of the artist and track, is this correct?

    Rich
    #6
  8. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    You will get no track names on the screen with the Ipod adapter. It will simply say 'track 1' etc. Using the CD1-5 selection selects between the first 5 playlists on the Ipod and CD6 simply plays all tracks on the Ipod.
    #7
  9. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    Thats fine i can live with that. What happens if you have more than 5 playlists like im guessing most people have?

    Rich
    #8
  10. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    I dont use the Audi adapter as not having track names on the screen is no-use to me so I'm not 100% sure, but I think that you will only get access to the first 5 playlists.
    #9
  11. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 11, 2008]
    Not a lot! CD6 is every track on the iPod. So you are limited to 5 playlists and one of all tracks.
    #10
  12. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    Oh right, i didnt no that there was a way around the track names. Which adaptor do you use? Im wondering if its something that the people who fit the RNS-E could change for me? Sorry for all the questions but without actually ever seeing this in operation i have no idea about any of it and who better to ask than you guys.

    Rich
    #11
  13. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2008]
    I'm currently in the process of installing the kufatec IMA+ adapter http://www.kufatec.de which will control a DLO Homedock to output the track details and pictures, videos onto the RNS-E screen. Its more expensive than the Audi adapter but worth it I think as track names will be a great bonus to me as I cover a lot of miles.
    #12
  14. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    That looks interesting, certainly something that i would ultimately like to do. I feel that the 5 playlists maximum is going to do my head in. We will have to see.

    Thanks again for all the help.

    Rich
    #13
  15. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 12, 2008]
    :thumbsup:
    #14
  16. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Thanks, i love the technical solution for holding it in place, lol. I really need to get a list together of the things i would like to eventually do with the RNS-E and then once ive done that im hoping some people on here will be able to tell me what is possible and what is not. For example, id really like to get an external hard drive set-up but i dont know how possible it is?

    Rich
    #15
  17. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 12, 2008]
    :thumbsup:
    #16
  18. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2008]
    Go for the PhatNoise Jukebox. 20GB HDD (you can get them up to 120GB). Comes with a docking cradle for transferring data from your PC and is controlled via the audi head unit using voice menus for playlists, albums, artists, tracks and genres.

    Gives you much more than the 5 playlists on the iPod plus there is nothing on display to attract the attention of thieves.

    I have about 150 playlists on mine - some with over 200 tracks.

    For an install guide check out www.a3phatnoise.quinlivan.net
    #17
  19. L60N
    Offline

    L60N Guest

    [May 12, 2008]
    I used to use the playlist thing, now i just pull the ipod out, select which album I want to play, then shove it back in :)

    You cant select the CD changer if you have selected ipod because they both live in the same place in your glovebox. ;)
    #18
  20. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2008]
    #19
  21. yod9999
    Offline

    yod9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Looks good, but where did you it from? The one thing on their website that looks like the box in your photo is the PhatBox, but the website says that it is discontinued

    http://www.phatnoise.com/products/digitalmediaplayers/index.aspx

    Cheers
    #20
  22. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2008]
    Yeah it is the same thing. It has been discontinued.

    I bought two of them direct from my dealer's parts dept, but you can find them on eBay. Dealer price is about £700, but eBay have them from about $300 from US VW\Audi dealers. Search for "Phatnoise" on eBay and you should get something.

    You may still be able to get them from your dealer too.
    #21
  23. yod9999
    Offline

    yod9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Thanks, I'll take a look on eBay.
    #22
  24. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Thanks a lot Marc, the Phatnoise looks great, its almost identical to what i have in my current car, the only difference is mine was factory fitted. The only thing that bothers me is i dont know if i fancy doing all that to a brand new car, im a bit funny like that, especially when the RRP is nigh on £32k, lol.

    Rich
    #23
  25. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [May 12, 2008]
    Seems like a pain in the arse to me. If you have mp3s already I don't see what's wrong with the SD card method. 8GB is quite a lot. Even 800 tracks is 60-70 full albums. That's more than enough. I can understand people wanting their entire collection in the car but how often do you really listen to most of them anyway? I have a 2GB card in right now and I've got 30 albums on it and am nowhere near needing to change them after about 500 miles.
    #24
  26. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2008]
    I'd fitted one in the same position in my previous A3 so I was fairly familiar with the install process and didn't worry too much about ripping a £30+k car apart. I've had it stripped out on several occasions to fit my phone kit, RNSe and TV tuner. The only thing I didn't like about the factory install is that they fit the unit at the bottom of the side panel the other way up and cut a hole in the panel to poke the cable through. There's a link to the factory install notes on that how to guide I posted.

    I can honestly say it is one of the best add-ons I've bought for the car. I had a bit of trouble with the dealer in sourcing the 20-12 pin adapter when I picked up the new A3 so I didn't get it installed straight away. I had to make a 700 mile round trip for work in one day and was lost with just the 6 discs in the Symphony II+.
    #25
  27. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2008]
    I wouldn't go for the iPod option myself either. Seems like too much messing - plus I'm not an iPod fan.

    I had the Phatnoise before the RNS-e, so was limited to just 6 discs in the Symphony II+. I've not used the SD card slots on the RNS-e. Never got around to it. Does it do WMA too or is it just MP3? The Phatnoise does WMA, MP3, WAV, OGG Vorbis along with audio books.

    I have 20GB of music on the Phatnoise and like to listen to different stuff depending on where I'm going or what time of day it is. Handy to have the selection to hand rather than being limited to whatever is on the SD at the time - although I suppose with 8GB there'd still be enough of a choice, but like I said I've not got around to using the SD yet.
    #26
  28. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    If you have some experience then im sure its not quite so bad but i still dont know if i would fancy it. I totally forgot about the SD cards, do you know if they display track info like the artist and track name?

    Rich
    #27
  29. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [May 12, 2008]
    No it only does mp3 but most people should have mp3s anyway. And you can convert wmas into mp3s and then in the future when you buy something else that won't play wmas (it'll happen trust me, your next mobile most likely) you'll still be sorted.

    Track names on screen is another benefit of the SD card slot. And easy controls. And no faffing about plugging an ipod in and out. No installation.

    Ok yes you're limited to 400 tracks (although it's unlimited on mine apparently but I haven't confirmed this yet) per card but I still think this is more than enough. Plus if you really wanted to you could get more cards and change them as and when.

    I plan to buy a 4GB card and fill it with all the best albums and then use the 2GB to put stuff on as and when I want to listen to something different or new.

    If you get some new music you then need to plug you phatnoise into your computer I'd guess. You might as well put it on an SD card.
    #28
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 12, 2008]
    Yeah SD is cool but it also has its limits on numbers of tracks but best solution really & far better than ipod, yes it displays alot of info on the track so much better.
    #29
  31. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2008]
    Yeah, I think SW0650 is supposed to have done something with the file limits.

    I've not bought any CDs in a while, so most of the new stuff is downloaded MP3s, but my entire CD collection is in WMA. I have loads of downloaded MP3s that I keep meaning to put on SD. I have a couple of 4GB jobs I got in Aldi for next to nothing to use - I just keep forgetting to do it.
    #30
  32. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 12, 2008]
    I'll do a test on the file limit thing tonight/tomorrow as I read somewhere else it didnt improve that much on 0650 to be honest, but you never know.
    #31
  33. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Thanks again for your help guys, at least i can make do with the SD cards until i can think of another solution or i become brave enough to do a proper install.

    Rich
    #32
  34. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 12, 2008]
    Trust me once you use the SD's you wont even bother with anything else to be honest, its just very easy & convenient, that why bother with more wiring/cables they hold enough anyway, I thought like you when I started but havnt changed anything in 3 years, lol
    #33
  35. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [May 12, 2008]
    I agree. Unless your whole collection is WMA like Marc's I don't think you'll bother.
    #34
  36. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Lol, you might be right, in some ways i hope you are because it will save me money. I do love my music though and i have a lot of it like im sure plenty of others do so it might be difficult choosing what to put on and what to leave. Although seeing as i have got the iPod console whether i like it or not i could use my SD cards for my favourite stuff and then stick the rest on an iPod just in case.

    Rich
    #35
  37. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 12, 2008]
    You can use as many SD's as you like, of course only 2 at a time but they take up far less room than a cd & alot more music, so you can effectively hold all your music in the car if you like with sd cards, can even break it down to artists SD whatever you like, so no restrictions really mate, lol.

    I think the restriction we all know on file numbers/names/lengths seems to also be related to the actual SD readers that are in the rns-e aswell as firmware, this is also why it can be a tad slow reading them sometimes, maybe they should update these to handle larger sdhc & faster cards no? anyone else?
    #36
  38. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Lol, yeah i suppose i could although i think it would be a little excessive if i had one for every artist, i wouldnt be able to get in the car for memory cards. It is a good idea though. Its a shame they wont take SDHC cards as that is what i currently use in my phones.

    I presume the RNS-E will read from a MicroSD in a full SD adaptor?

    Rich
    #37
  39. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [May 12, 2008]
    I just had to check but you've said you're getting a new S3 yes? Well it'll come with an aux input anyway. IE a 3.5mm jack socket in the centre console. If you upgrade to RNS-e it'll need rewiring so make sure you tell whoever it is fitting it that you have aux in and want it to work still with RNS-e.
    #38
  40. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 12, 2008]
    Thats one I havnt tried to be honest with adapter, should but I wouldnt incase you get the adapter somehow stuck in the reader, lol

    But yeah my comment on artists was of course the excessive side of what you could do as you loved music so much, but christ how much music have you got man???? lol.
    #39
  41. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2008]
    Well it was meant to be a facelift model but i didnt fancy waiting till August/September so yes it is a new one but not the facelift. I will more than likely be getting it done by Hazzy Dayz, everyone seems to be more than happy with them.

    Cheers for the info.

    Rich
    #40

Share This Page