1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD PLAYERS

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by jav786, May 27, 2010.

  1. jav786
    Offline

    jav786 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2010]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 24, 2014]

  3. jav786
    Offline

    jav786 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 27, 2010]
    That DVD player wont bring up any errors on your dash, its just changing the Head Unit.


    It it were me, I would want to go for a more sheek look, get a RNS-E, a Multimedia Adapter then a DVD player... can be pricey though:

    RNS-E: ~ £450
    Multimedia Adapter: £100
    DVD player: £30


    You would also need some sort of power converter to convert the standard plug to match one of the car, think places like Halfords etc do these for about £20.



    To answer your initial question though :), yes it will work fine without any problems.
    #3
  5. jav786
    Offline

    jav786 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2010]
    thats a bit out of my price range u see lol haha....
    will i need any other bits or equipment in order to fit the DVD player or is the dvd player and wiring all i need?
    #4
  6. jav786
    Offline

    jav786 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2010]
    what will the system sound like? using the original audi set up?
    will it just sound the same? if you understand me?
    #5
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 27, 2010]
    Yeah, it will just use the original audi sound system.

    The only bits you'll require are the actual Head Unit and its wiring. The wiring will convert the standard ISO plugs from your A3 into the Head Units fitment.

    You should also get a fascia, just to tidy it up a bit - can get these on eBay for ~ £15
    #6
  8. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 27, 2010]
    Do you have a double din or single din stereo in at the minute?
    #7
  9. jav786
    Offline

    jav786 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2010]
    im thinking the single din... i just have the standard audi stereo from factory bud?
    #8
  10. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 27, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    If its the top one, you'll be totally fine to have a straight fit for the DVD player. But if its for the below pictures, I'm not sure if you need a seperate cage to hold the DVD player...
    #9
  11. jav786
    Offline

    jav786 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2010]
    its the top one brother ! :D
    thank you.
    so its a straight fit then.. all i need is the dvd player, wiring, and a poweer converter right?
    #10
  12. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 27, 2010]
    Yeah straight swap is all it is buddy, and you don't need a power converter. Its a DVD player built for a Car so the power will run into the back of the Head Unit from the wires in your car.
    #11
  13. jav786
    Offline

    jav786 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2010]
    so its a straight swap.. wicked Jb0o.. i appreciate you help.
    will there be ne difference in the sound?
    or will it be the same as the factory standard sound?
    #12
  14. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 27, 2010]
    Should be the same, quality of the sound is determined by the speakers.

    Any time bud.
    #13
  15. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 27, 2010]
    i thought you loose alot of quality to the rears due to how the audi stereos use the amp ?
    ive got the rns-e with interface and dvd player and playstation along with reverse camera, well worth the money in my opinion
    #14
  16. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 27, 2010]
    I just assumed you wouldn't, my mistake!

    Yeah - thats what I have installed, well worth it and its looks the dogs.
    #15
  17. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,651
    Likes Received:
    435
    [May 27, 2010]
    Do you have Bose in your car? if so how does the aftermarket units sound with Bose? any issues?
    #16

Share This Page